Japanese Style Deep Fried Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Hooooly snap. Amazing. I don't cook often, but I would make this despite the mess, and the clean up. It was delicious, brilliant and all around easy. Best tasting, absolutely 100% will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheyenne Moshtagh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
So I messed up and had the flour and panko in the same bowl but the results were still amazing. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
I saw this recipe early in the week and decided it would be a perfect Friday "happy hour" supper. I read the reviews, made notes of what people liked to add, what modifications they made.... and I have to say the results were DELICIOUS! I was cooking for 3 adults, 2 teens, and 1 child so I doubled the recipe. The 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp pepper & 1 tsp garlic powder were tossed with the 2 lbs peeled shrimp (I took off the tail, too -- it was easier to completely peel it than leave it on). Instead of paprika, I used 1-1/2 tsp Old Bay seasoning in 1 cup flour (still plenty of flour even with doubling the shrimp). I added about 1/2 tsp garlic salt to each cup of panko (I needed about 4). Using my Rival Deep Fryer, I fried 6-8 large shrimp per batch which is what fit comfortably in the basket and each batch took around 3 minutes. It was so perfectly crunchy and such an indulgence since I probably make fried "anything" only a couple of times a year. If you like more zip, add at least another tsp of Old Bay or some cayenne. I think it could take more garlic, as well. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I made this recipe twice. The first time, I used one bag of small deveined, tail off shrimp, from Walmart, and it worked, awesomely!! My husband devoured them!! I got some, too!! So, I made them, again!! WE LOVE THESE!! It takes some work, but WELL WORTH IT!!!! I added some paprika to my mixture, and it made a difference in the taste. LOVE IT!!!!!!!!! FIVE STARS!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Very tasty and crispy! I used small shrimps since that was what I had at hand, but I think it really would work better with medium or large shrimps, as the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Amazing. Simply amazing. I cannot give enough rave to this recipe. I'm a celiac, and it was EASY to make gf. I followed the instructions as written here and used gf ingredients. The shrimp turned out so crispy and perfect. It was amazing. I really can't even say anything other than amazing. It had a great blend of flavor, crunchy, and shrimp is my favorite seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berger5909

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
My son really liked this recipe. I found it to be very good as well!!. Will definitely use it again using a little more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Wells

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
These were awesome! Definitely a great snack for sporting events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pingree, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I didn't use the spices and this was excellent. I used pre cooked jumbo shrimp and ate them with tarter sauce. Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Deep Fried Turkey

See how to deep fry a crispy skinned turkey in 45 minutes or less!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States