Japanese-Style Deep Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Didn't have sweet potato starch (just Katakuriko potato starch) to do Taiwanese popcorn chicken and already had the meat marinating with 2 teaspoons of 5 spice powder so I thought I'd do something with this recipe. I used Mochiko sweet rice flour, added 1 tablespoon rice wine, used brown instead of white sugar, had no sesame oil on hand and added 1 tablespoon tapioca starch after my first batch seemed flat. I used white pepper instead of regular and had to add quite a bit more rice flour. This recipe is so versatile - if you eye it, you can't go wrong. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This is an awesome recipe! Me and my husband loved it. I followed another reveiwers suggestion and just used regular flour and cornstartch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cohutta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This was delicious and very easy to make.....the whole family enjoyed it, even Little Miss Picky. If you don't have a deep-fry thermometer, put a wooden utensil into the oil and touch the bottom of the pot. If bubbles rise from there, the oil is hot enough. If A LOT of bubbles rise, it's too hot, turn it down a little! I put paper towels in a pasta plate and kept it in the oven at 170 till all of the chicken was fried. Even the chicken I cooked first was still in good shape when it came time to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This was a big hit with the family. Definately one of our favourites. Thankyou Amy for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
my family liked this one! I also exchanged the potato starch for instant potato flakes. couldnt find ginger root in my grocery store so i used ground ginger about 1 tsp. and used just regular veg. oil. just made the best of what i had. and i will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
We love this recipe. I make it often. I add a bit of baking powder to the mixture also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is pretty close to the karaage chicken I had in Japan. I made this last Thursday, and today (Monday) my daughter has requested it for dinner tonight. I did not have on hand the rice flour or potato starch, so I had to substitute with regular flour and cornstarch. I can only imagine how much more delicious this dish would be if I had the original ingredients! Definitely will be a repeat dish for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammyfestejo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
yummy I did this with a combo of all purpose flour and corn starch and it came out nice and crispy but not too heavy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was certainly good, just nothing spectacular. I did not have potato or rice items so used flour and corn starch. Tasty and the kids enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Very good! Me and my husband both enjoyed these alot. I will be adding this one to my favorites collection, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States