Japanese-Style Deep Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I've made this a few times and everyone raves about it. A couple tips to try, instead of adding the chopped ginger, grate it and use the liquid from it, some people don't like biting into ginger. Also after you cook the pieces for a min or so, remove the chicken and let rest on a rack for 1-2 mins, that allows the residual heat from the oil to go through the chicken, and allows the oil to come back up to temp. then re add the chicken for 2nd time, cook for a couple mins then remove again, and let rest, re add for third and last time and cook for a min or so. You'll find it makes for a much more crispy chicken. Learned that while I was visiting Tokyo last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New London, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This was really good! Couldn't find potatoe starch so used instant potatoes, really great flavor and easy to make. I used boneless chicken thighs just because I prefer dark meat. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I deboned chicken thighs and cut them into 2 to 3" squares, as my family is not real big on white meat. I deep fried them at 325 degrees and was glad I did: they turned a beautiful golden brown and tasted so good...tender like I remember the little restaurants in Japan made and so very crunchy. Got to love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Try using panko instead of going to the trouble of finding the rice flour and potato starch. Lots of big chain supermarkets carry panko in the Asian food section. This tastes great as a breading for fish, too, and those you can broil in the oven. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
delicious although i really didnt taste much but its great kinda taste like tempura ! maybe i did somthing wrong idk but it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Couldn't stop eating them. I made them with wings and they reminded me of these ginger flavored wings I used to buy from Chinatown in san Francisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
very good flavoring! Next time I'm going to drain the marinated chicken before adding the rice flour and potato starch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Great recipe! If you can't find potato starch, use potato flakes and grind to a "flour" like consistency in a food processor. Mix with the corn starch. I make a big batch and keep on hand for next time. Also, to keep from biting into large pieces of garlic or ginger, grate them. Hope these tips help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Great recipe! Very easy to make. I used red pepper to give it just a little more spice and I also used corn starch and regular flour. It came out great and the whole family LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larangeles26
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I like the twist of ginger and the unique crispiness of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larangeles26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States