Japanese-Style Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly except that I subbed out the sugar and used honey. It is a nice fresh salad but found it a little underwhelming. We felt it needed something to spice it up a bit. Glad we tried it though. Thanks Cynthia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This "Japanese-Style Cabbage Salad" was both tasty and attractive. The dressing was nice and zippy: I made my dressing with fresh ginger and lots of pepper (and a tad of garlic powder rather than the fresh garlic called for since I was making only 2 servings). I made my salad with red cabbage, and the loads of almond slices and loads of sesame seeds, as well as the green onion, contrasted with the red cabbage beautifully. I think this would be a wonderful salad to take to a potluck. If I were to make this salad again, I would let my sliced green onion rest in the vinegar and honey by themselves a little longer before adding the rest of the ingredients (like I usually do) to remove the "skunky taste" from the onion. Thank you Cynthia for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I used half savoy cabbage and half purple, the salad was very pretty and had great crunch. Overall, I enjoyed the salad, although I would substitute half of the sesame oil with another oil next time as the sesame taste did take over the salad slightly as other reviewers found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Very good slaw! It was simple but went perfectly with the mahogany chicken wings. The dressing could have used a little more sugar and I also used fresh ginger and let the dressing sit for a few hours. It's a keeper especially since it's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Excellent! Love the flavors--the fresh ginger stands out, as does the sesame oil and rice wine vinegar. Love the addition of the slivered almonds and sesame seeds. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This was very good. Next time I will shred my cabbage to a coarser texture. I did it in the processor because I was lazy and it was too fine. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
To give this salad a little "kick", I added a dash of Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce. I did not add the full amount of salt and pepper, I added it to taste. I made this around noon today as to give it time to sit in the dressing until dinner. VERY good, though my husband and I thought this needed more dressing. Next time, I will double the dressing ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Just exactly what I was looking for! Used this for a filling in a turkey wrap. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daysee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Amazing. As is. Nothing else needs to be said. Just amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyB1012
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This was such a hit at my daughter's graduation party. I replaced half the sesame oil with half olive oil. I added shredded carrots for color and omitted the sesame seeds. I kept the other ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Spicy Cabbage Kimchi

See how to make spicy, slightly sweet fermented cabbage.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States