Japanese-Style Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
To give this salad a little "kick", I added a dash of Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce. I did not add the full amount of salt and pepper, I added it to taste. I made this around noon today as to give it time to sit in the dressing until dinner. VERY good, though my husband and I thought this needed more dressing. Next time, I will double the dressing ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I'm giving it 5 stars because I like the dressing. I did start modifying before I tried the original recipe because...I'm serving it to guests tonight and I wanted to take advantage of all of the good cooks' recommendations. I added carrots and broccoli, changed the sugar to honey and otherwise did as instructed. It's a wonderful slaw salad and uses many of my garden veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I made this to go with a Japanese chicken dish, because I had half a head of cabbage to use. I was out of scallions, which would have helped a lot, and I chose not to bother with the almonds. I added two shredded carrots, did use the garlic, and used only 1/2 tsp pepper. Not bad, but the sesame oil was too overpowering. I ended up using another Tbsp each of sugar and vinegar to try to counteract the oil. If I make it again, will use 1 T. sesame oil and 1 T. canola, with the same amt. of other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This recipe was a huge hit for a sushi party I threw recently. I did double the sauce as I found it a little light. Very tasty and is now added to my recipe box as a favorite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is fantastic. I have made it a few times and it is always a crowd pleaser. I personally like using red cabbage because it makes a really pretty salad, and I have added julienned carrots and it looked and tasted great. I've also added cucumber which is also tasty. I followed some other reviews and used honey as opposed to sugar and it tasted really nice. Don't skip out on toasting the sesame seeds - it really gives it that nutty flavour. The dressing is really versatile too, I've contemplated using it for other salads, and it would probably be tasty with shrimp. This is my favourite cabbage recipe, thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is really great. I think this would be fantastic followed as is, but I made the following modifications for my own personal taste. I added about 1/4 cup of shredded carrots, I used roasted salted peanuts instead of almonds, and about half a bunch of green onion (a whole bunch seemed like too much).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladibugsnacking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This salad was delicious! My husband and I lived in Japan for a couple years, and we're always looking for side dishes to go with our salmon and rice. This one was perfect! The only thing I didn't add was the almonds. I also replaced the sugar with honey. Everything else I followed to the letter. I can't believe how fast and easy this was to make, I will be making it many more times, I'm sure. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Great recipe. Very fresh and light. A nice healthier option to regular coleslaw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Absolutely what I was looking for. I had to use white vingegar because I was out of rice vinegar. And I was almost out of sesame oil. So I used half that and half sunflower oil. I also addes fresh mandarin oranges. But I think the recipe would have been wonderful as is. Thank yo so much. Fantastic. I will be taking it to a simple dinner this afternoon, where they will be serving an oriental chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I tweaked this recipe a bit so that is why I don't have 5 stars....I added julienned carrots, blanched broccoli florets and instead of vinegar in the dressing I used lime juice and used honey instead of the sugar. I really liked the flavour but thought it needed a bit more dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Spicy Cabbage Kimchi

See how to make spicy, slightly sweet fermented cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States