Japanese-Style Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Great recipe. Very fresh and light. A nice healthier option to regular coleslaw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is really great. I think this would be fantastic followed as is, but I made the following modifications for my own personal taste. I added about 1/4 cup of shredded carrots, I used roasted salted peanuts instead of almonds, and about half a bunch of green onion (a whole bunch seemed like too much).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladibugsnacking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I tweaked this recipe a bit so that is why I don't have 5 stars....I added julienned carrots, blanched broccoli florets and instead of vinegar in the dressing I used lime juice and used honey instead of the sugar. I really liked the flavour but thought it needed a bit more dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This was really good. It made a huge bowl. I would cut it in half next time since my husband and I are the only ones that would eat it. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Just added 1 shredded or julienne carrot & garnished with fresh parsley. Simply refreshing, healthy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This recipe was a huge hit for a sushi party I threw recently. I did double the sauce as I found it a little light. Very tasty and is now added to my recipe box as a favorite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I'm giving it 5 stars because I like the dressing. I did start modifying before I tried the original recipe because...I'm serving it to guests tonight and I wanted to take advantage of all of the good cooks' recommendations. I added carrots and broccoli, changed the sugar to honey and otherwise did as instructed. It's a wonderful slaw salad and uses many of my garden veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I made this to go with a Japanese chicken dish, because I had half a head of cabbage to use. I was out of scallions, which would have helped a lot, and I chose not to bother with the almonds. I added two shredded carrots, did use the garlic, and used only 1/2 tsp pepper. Not bad, but the sesame oil was too overpowering. I ended up using another Tbsp each of sugar and vinegar to try to counteract the oil. If I make it again, will use 1 T. sesame oil and 1 T. canola, with the same amt. of other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Excellent salad. I added sunflower seeds to mine. The texture of this salad is sooo crunchy. Dressing has a zing to it...definately a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Great w/ Asian food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States