Japanese-Style Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Absolutely what I was looking for. I had to use white vingegar because I was out of rice vinegar. And I was almost out of sesame oil. So I used half that and half sunflower oil. I also addes fresh mandarin oranges. But I think the recipe would have been wonderful as is. Thank yo so much. Fantastic. I will be taking it to a simple dinner this afternoon, where they will be serving an oriental chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This salad was delicious! My husband and I lived in Japan for a couple years, and we're always looking for side dishes to go with our salmon and rice. This one was perfect! The only thing I didn't add was the almonds. I also replaced the sugar with honey. Everything else I followed to the letter. I can't believe how fast and easy this was to make, I will be making it many more times, I'm sure. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by buckinz
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Great yummy salad but you really need to chop the cabbage thinly and I recommend using all the sugar as suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buckinz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is fantastic. I have made it a few times and it is always a crowd pleaser. I personally like using red cabbage because it makes a really pretty salad, and I have added julienned carrots and it looked and tasted great. I've also added cucumber which is also tasty. I followed some other reviews and used honey as opposed to sugar and it tasted really nice. Don't skip out on toasting the sesame seeds - it really gives it that nutty flavour. The dressing is really versatile too, I've contemplated using it for other salads, and it would probably be tasty with shrimp. This is my favourite cabbage recipe, thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I didn't use the ginger or garlic that it said was optional, and I found the dressing to lack a lot of flavor. It seems like a good basis, but it needs more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
When I made this I added some grated carrots and used all the optional ingredients. It was good, but my husband and I both agreed the dressing was a little too tart. I'll make again and either add a little extra sugar or replace the sugar with honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This salad is so delicious! The best cabbage salad ever. I am definitely adding this to my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very refreshing. I used a combination of toasted and plain sesame oil and added the juice of a lime. I also switched a scant quarter cup of unsalted, roasted peanuts and 2 Tbs of sunflower seeds for the almonds. Like others, I added 2 shredded carrots, but next time I would add one more and perhaps add a julienned red pepper. Instead of pepper, I used Siracha and a dash of cayenne. I served it with Asian pork tenderloin and basmati rice. This will definitely go into rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Nice crunch. Oriental flavoring. Good, quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Great w/ Asian food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Spicy Cabbage Kimchi

See how to make spicy, slightly sweet fermented cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States