Japanese Spinach with Sweet Sesame Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I made some adjustments based on others' comments and we LOVED this dish! I wilted the spinach in 1 tbsp EACH of soy sauce and water. Once wilted, I added a dash of garlic powder, onion powder, and fresh ground pepper to the remaining liquid in the pan. Then I added the sesame seed oil and sesame seeds. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Loved this recipe. super easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Reminds me of my grandmother's spinach dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is very oriental and I know its close to how koreans prepare the spinach for every meal. I changed a few things, I added soy sauce and changed the amounts of everything. Grinding up the sesame seeds is Not necessary though =) Easy side item!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I thought this was a 1 star, but my husband did like it ok. The sugar completely doesn't go with the spinach. I should have known that the sesame oil shouldn't be added at the beginning - sesame oil isn't a good oil to cook with because it loses its flavor with cooking. Like someone else said, it was missing salt. I put some on at the end. Still was way too sweet for my liking. Eatible I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I OMITTED THE BROWN SUGAR AND ALSO USED SOY SAUCE. I PUT ONE TABLESPOON OF WATER IN PAN THEN THE SPINACH TO WILT DOWN A BIT THEN ADDED THE SESAME SEEDS CRUSHED WITH THE OIL. CAME OUT GREAT. TWO OF MY FAVORITES. SESAME SEEDS AND SPINACH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I made this once and it wasn't great. The second time I added some soy sauce and replaced the sugar with plain Splenda. I used 1 TBS of sesame oil (on the pan) for wilting the spinach, then added 1/2 TBS in the process of wilting, and reserve the rest and added it after i turned the pan off. It was much better this way. I may have used less spinach since I was cooking for 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I liked this recipe, but it isn't super-different from other sauteed spinach recipes. I halved the oil. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Great as a burger topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
to sweet but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vegetarian Afrodisiac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States