Japanese Shrimp Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I tried this last night and so far the only thing that was the same as Benihana's, was the color. I think I made a mistake and used "Miracle Whip" as opposed to regular mayo. Otherwise, it was very close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
Paired this sauce with Shrimp in a Spicy Tomato Sauce, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
this is the first recipe i have tried and it was pretty close a little tangy and sweet but we still loved it, was great with shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
This is it!! Been looking for this forever! The only change is to use fresh garlic. It's a must. Just like the sauce at Bennihannas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
One day while eating at our local Japanese restaurant I teased our chef and asked for the ingredients to their shrimp sauce. Surprisingly he gave me a few of the ingredients, the same as this recipe, except he said to soak a few slices of a fruit (apple or orange) in it for a while. He did not say for how long, probably a couple of hours. He did say to not let it ferment. For those of you who thought something was missing from this recipe, maybe this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
This is truly excellent and tastes just like the sauce at our favorite Japanese restaurant. I used the fat free mayo and it still tastes just as great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marilla, New York, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
i spent 4 years in nc eating the sauce i'm looking for on my fried rice, but now i'm living in ks and i can't find it anywhere. this is not at ALL what i thought it would be. i'm not a fan -i hope you find it to be what you're looking for. it was the right color, but it didn't taste right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLICAT2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
Don't waste your mayo, this is not the sauce you are looking for. I was hopeful when I saw the right color, then I had a taste...the search continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALOUONIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
This was definitely not the shrimp sauce I was thinking about. It was very tangy. I don't know if it needed more sugar or less rice vinegar, but it wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
My family loves this sauce at our favorite Japanese restaurant and this is just as good. It was gone before the rice was! Will make this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cameron, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States