Japanese Shrimp Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I make this sauce quite often with fried rice and steak. It is very very similar to a sauce found at our favorite local japanese steakhouse. The first time I made it the vinegar taste was way too strong. I have since made it with 2 tbls of vinegar instead of 3 and it is much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This sauce tastes just like the sauce in a Japanese restaurant---perfect for dipping our shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarapot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
It was a little tangy for me. They are too much of the ingredients. If you change all the tablespoons to teaspoons but keep the mayonnaise the same (1 cup) it's much much better and tast just like the restraunts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This is pretty good. Like most of the other reviewers, I found it to be too sweet and too vinegary. I cut both back by a tablespoon and found the results to be much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
So easy, so good and really does taste like something you'd get at Benihana. Make sure you let it chill for an hour or 2 for the flavors to blend. I served this with beef and shrimp fondue and bet it would even be good with chicken. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
We didn't think that it tasted much like the shrimp sauce at any Japanese restaurant we've been to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I found this recipe to extreamly sweet, and not at all what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yokota, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Sorry about the first bad rating, wrong recipe I rated. Very good sauce! Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I had been asking the restaurant for this recipe for a long time and they would not give it to me. We moved about seven hours away from there now and can't go eat there. Thanks so much for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This sauce is waaayyy toooo sweet! It is def not the shrimp sauce that they serve in the japanese restraunts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States