Japanese Shrimp Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
ALMOST tastes restaurant style. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This version on shrimp sauce is ok but it is not like the shrimp sauce in restaurants. First off, it is much thicker than what is served at a hibachi grill. The version served at hibachi grills is pourable, this is not. Secondly, this shrimp sauce has an extreme mayonaise taste to it, to be honest the ingredients calls for too much mayonaise. Thats why alot of the reviews say it is too sweet..its the mayonaise. Other reviews say to half the vinegar portion BUT DO NOT DO THAT! If you half the vinegar portion than you get sweet red thick mayonaise, at least the vinegar takes away from the extreme sweetness. This one is not that great at all... I had to add a bunch of ginger and pepper to make it tolerable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This is not the japanese shrimp sauce. I made it as the recipe said and left it overnight. The next day brought it to room temperature. This sauce is too sweet and tangy. Not at all at the Japanese resturants I frequented. I am still searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I made this sauce for a dinner party I was having. My guests loved it. But, I thought it was a little tangy. I added some powdered ginger and it turned out great. We ate the whole bowl.The teenage girl was taking her chicken and scraping the last little bit out of the bowl. Next time, I've just got to make more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This tastes so much like what you get in a Japanese restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This sauce comes out White, not pink-orange color. Tastes like pure vinegar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Don't most people know that mayonaise and miracle whip are not the same thing? Just wanted to add that as someone mentioned to not use miracle whip but use best foods....they are not interchangeable at all, unless you like it more sweet and tart by using miracle whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I make this sauce quite often with fried rice and steak. It is very very similar to a sauce found at our favorite local japanese steakhouse. The first time I made it the vinegar taste was way too strong. I have since made it with 2 tbls of vinegar instead of 3 and it is much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This sauce tastes just like the sauce in a Japanese restaurant---perfect for dipping our shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarapot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
It was a little tangy for me. They are too much of the ingredients. If you change all the tablespoons to teaspoons but keep the mayonnaise the same (1 cup) it's much much better and tast just like the restraunts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States