Japanese Shrimp Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This recipe is good. I made the following adjustments and found it better. First use real mayonaisse. Not Mircle Whip. Second eliminate the sugar AND the rice vinegar and use sushi vinegar. It is already sweetened. Third I added about a teaspoon of ketchup. Fourth, definitely let it set over night. The flavor changes immensly after setting. I found this to be very close to what I have had in steakhouse resturants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
My husband thinks it's better than the restaurant's. I omitted 1 teas. of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Yummy I love japanese shrimp sauce I call it Japanese mayonnaise usually.It goes good about any dish.I wanna make it oneday! Sayonara!Bye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Being that I lived in Japan for 5 years this took me back too one of my best times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
all i tasted was the mayo! Maybe cutting back on the mayo would help but IDK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
VERY IMPORTANT- You MUST let this sit for at least 4-5 hours, at first when I tasted it I was thinking about throwing it away as it was awful… but thought I would see if my guest would like it, so left it in the fridge for about 8 hours…. When it came back out, it had a very different flavor and ended up being the hit of the party… Yes you may need to adjust the amount of the ingredients, sugar/vinegar to suit your tastes but let it sit before you decide…. Oh and one other thing you may decide to add a small dash of cayenne pepper to add to the flavor and give it a very subtle kick…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
this doesn't taste like the sauce i was looking for. it is pretty tasty, but not the sauce i CRAVE from japanese steakhouses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
this is pretty dran close i cut down on the sugar but everything else is pretty close. we love it in our family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
this was WAY too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This was a pretty good base recipe. As always I made the recipe exactly as specified. The only thing I didn't like is that the rice vinegar taste was a bit too much. I also wasn't sure if white sugar was the same as regular sugar. I'll read some of the other reviews and see what I can add. Made this for SuperBowl 44 and everyone else seemed to really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snave88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States