Japanese Shrimp Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I thought it was a good foundation for japanese shrimp sauce. I tweaked the amounts and added a few extras (honey, cayenne, fresh garlic instead of powder, salt and fresh ginger). It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swan_Song

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly the first time I made this. The vinegar taste was WAY too strong. I was pretty dissapointeed because it did not taste nearly as good as the sauce at our favorite Japanese restuarant. The next time we ate there we asked them what was in their sauce, and they would not tell us. However they did say yes when we asked if they used ketchup in the sauce. So that is atleast one thing missing. It was still a good sauce after sitting in the fridge for a while, maybe a good salad dressing... it just was not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I wanted to make "white sauce" and found this recipe. It's not quite the same as the restaurant kind, a bit too tangy. But it's still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Sooo excited to find this recipe. We moved to the northeast and the Japanese Steak Houses here don't have this sauce. I made it tonight and brought it with us. Sooo good. I will decrease the amount of vinegar next time, but otherwise perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gawildflower
Home Town: Clayton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Clover, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This recipe is good. I made the following adjustments and found it better. First use real mayonaisse. Not Mircle Whip. Second eliminate the sugar AND the rice vinegar and use sushi vinegar. It is already sweetened. Third I added about a teaspoon of ketchup. Fourth, definitely let it set over night. The flavor changes immensly after setting. I found this to be very close to what I have had in steakhouse resturants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
My husband thinks it's better than the restaurant's. I omitted 1 teas. of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Yummy I love japanese shrimp sauce I call it Japanese mayonnaise usually.It goes good about any dish.I wanna make it oneday! Sayonara!Bye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Being that I lived in Japan for 5 years this took me back too one of my best times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
all i tasted was the mayo! Maybe cutting back on the mayo would help but IDK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
VERY IMPORTANT- You MUST let this sit for at least 4-5 hours, at first when I tasted it I was thinking about throwing it away as it was awful… but thought I would see if my guest would like it, so left it in the fridge for about 8 hours…. When it came back out, it had a very different flavor and ended up being the hit of the party… Yes you may need to adjust the amount of the ingredients, sugar/vinegar to suit your tastes but let it sit before you decide…. Oh and one other thing you may decide to add a small dash of cayenne pepper to add to the flavor and give it a very subtle kick…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States