Japanese Shrimp Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This recipe is sweeter than the Japanese Steakhouse sauce, but I LOVE IT!!! I have made it for a few years now and actually like it better than the Steakhouse sauce! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I have made this recipe several times since finding it on this site, and my family loves it. We eat it with chicken, shrimp, rice, and fish. It is a great dipping sauce or for use on top of fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I suggest you only use 1T of vinegar and add a teaspoon of sirache
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I agree that this is a great base to the sauce. If you make the recipe as written you are likely to be disappointed. However if you play around with it a bit it can turn out pretty close to what's served at hibachi restaurants. I would use the mayo and vinegar amounts but you will want to at least double everything else. After doublingnimstarted adding a shake more of this and a dash more of that. In the end I am really pleased with final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I tweaked a thing or two, but it turned out great with my sushi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ashley

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Rich and creamy - not bad. Great consistency in part, I'm sure, because of the butter. However, it was a little flat on taste and still a bit sweet even after reducing the amount of sugar (I used Splenda) by half. It was serviceable, but not tasty enough for me, anyway, to make it worth the calories. Would have probably loved this if it just had a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Love this with scallops! Yum Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Very good shrimp sauce. I halved the amount since I was only serving two people using best food mayonnaise. I cut back a bit on the amount of sugar using splenda and I found it was still slightly sweet but with a little "tang" from the vinegar. Next time I will just use 2 tsp. of Splenda instead of 3T of sugar. The color of the sauce is a slight pinkishorangish hue just as submitter states. I just mixed all the ingredients together and put in the refrigerator to chill until ready to serve. I used this recipe as a dipping sauce for ,"Japanese Deep Fried Shrimp," and served it aong with "Japanese Style Sesame Green Beans,""Cucumber Sunomono," and "Miso Soup," all from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Did not like at all. Nothing could cut out the STRONG taste and smell of my Hellmann's mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Northport, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Tastes exactly like the restaurants! I used a tad more vinegar because I love the kick. I'm surprised this recipe doesn't have higher ratings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States