Japanese Sesame Steak Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Always wondered what the main flavour profile was in our favorite restaurant yum yum sauce. Tahini! Who knew, made this recipe adjusting water for preferred thickness. It's not an exact copy cat recipe but close; love it on rice, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I've just made this recipe, almost to the letter, I did as one reviewer suggested and used already minced garlic & ginger as it was what I had on hand. However, it's an odd taste and nothing like the sesame steak sauce I've been buying in Sobeys (my local grocery store). I'm addicted to that sauce lol. I had hoped to replicate it somewhat. Oh well, you gave it a good try labuanlady :-). I guess I will keep looking and until I find something, will have to keep buying the sauce by the case lol! Thank you again for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I have been trying to find a recipe similar to Japanese Village Sesame Sauce for years. This is it! It likely isn't the same ingredients, but it tastes exactly the same to me. I didn't even know what Tahini was when I came across this recipe. All I knew is that I didn't have time to roast my own sesame seeds. This recipe is so easy. I love it and have been putting the sauce on everything: steak, chicken, rice, etc. So delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
i really didnt like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Haymarket, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I thought this was a good base for a tahini sauce but missing some really key flavors. It has the bitter/salty/spicy going for it, but needed to be balanced out. We really liked it after making a few adjustments: Half the amount of soy sauce, subbing Bragg's liquid aminos, using only 1/2 t. ginger, adding 1 T. minced parsley, 1 T. honey, and 1 t. lemon juice. I guess this is a new sauce recipe though, so maybe I'm missing something with what to serve the original with. I served the sauce with seared t-bone steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is nothing like the sauce from the "Alberta restaurant" I'm thinking of, which was the sawmill steak house. It had a strong flavor of soy sauce, and no where near as much sesame as the original. Also, it was much less creamy. I made it with equal parts tahini and mayo(light),added a teaspoon of sesame oil, reduced the ginger to a teaspoon, and doubled the water. It's not exact, but its darn close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
very good, but definately have to cut the ginger in half, also i substituted the tahini for toasted ground seasame seeds, in my opinion, a much better tase and not as strong, can be used with anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Mihilewicz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I am not familiar with the restaurant sauce that this recipe is supposed to imitate, but we did like this with our steaks. I made it as written with a bit of extra garlic and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Too salty as is. I'd cut the soy sauce by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
A little bit of messing around with ingrediants to get just the right flavour, but sooo worth it. Would definately put less ginger, maybe only 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJacobson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States