Japanese Restaurant Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This is a very good recipe--just like what you get in a restaurant! I had some Persian cucumbers that needed to get used up, and I was lucky to find this recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is a winner! Made with our fresh garden cucumbers, it is light, crunchy, refreshing with a little kick at the end. It's really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Garden Valley, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I reduced the servings to 2 and found it a little dry so I doubled up on the rice vinegar, sugar, and chile. Using the called for amount of sesame oil was too much, the flavor overpowering everything. Next time I'll just add a tsp. of that. Otherwise, this is exactly what I was looking for. Thank you! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
i like the recipe and make cucumber salads often. i changed it slightly. i used apple cider vinegar rather than the rice vinegar (i did have rice vinegar). i also put a little lime juice and sesame seeds on top. the chili paste is very tasty in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizanne Stamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I normally love sesame oil, but it doesn't work for me in this recipe. The rest of the family liked it though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This is so authentic and tasty! The flavor of the sesame oil is incredible. I used one large English cucumber and because I did not have chili paste, I used chili garlic sauce instead. My young children loved it as a side and I mixed some of these cucumbers with romaine lettuce and shredded rotisserie chicken. I then used the sauce as a dressing and sprinkled with toasted sesame seeds. Delicious! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
So simple and so yummy, I followed the recipe exactly in this case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
What an excellent recipe. I made it with the ingredients as written but do not measure as a chef I just eyeball them. I did use a great chili garlic sauce by Schiriachia and it was outstanding Thanks for a great idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILHERB

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Outstanding. Sometimes I double the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Really good it seems like its going to be dry until you let it sit for a little bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States