Japanese Potsticker Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This stuff is sooo good! I made this the other night to go with steamed dumplings we ordered and unfortunately we didn't have enough sauce. For some reason one small cup for me just doesn't cut it. I used low sodium soy sauce and subbed sesame oil for the chili oil - I also added some finely chopped green onions. If you want to make it a bit sweeter add just the tiniest bit of brown sugar. You can change it up with ginger as well. Just play with it to suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This was great. Over 20 years ago, a Japanese friend of mine showed me how to make this and I had forgotten. I did not have chili oil, so I used sesame oil. It turned out wonderful. My family loved it. Now I will have to try it with chili oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
This is great and easy! I lightly drizzle seasame oil on potstickers or dumplings with this and it is a perfect little topper to a great dish! I also add finely chopped chives or green onions to it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Wow - this sauce is excellent. At first I thought it was a little too hot, but it actually really goes well with potstickers. I added about 1/2 tbsp of minced fresh ginger to top it off. Really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth J. Bates

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bentonville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Very good as is but after tasting I added ginger, garlic powder and a touch of sesame oil. Used this for potstickers. Yum and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Oh my...this potsticker dip is amazing! I made it to go with regular frozen potstickers and it made them taste like restaurant quality! I didn't have chili oil so i used sesame oil instead and i also added chopped green onion and a tiny bit of grated garlic and ginger. Ok, so i completely changed the recipe...it's still good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This ratio of 1:1 soy sauce to vinegar is too sour for my taste. I tend to do 2/3 soy to 1/3 vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMSVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Exactly how my Japanese mother made it and how I remember it growing up. I make mine this way, too. Sometimes, I will use hot sesame oil in place of chili oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Murrysville, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Just 3 star as written for me. It had too much of a vinegar taste for my palet. I added more soy and grated a pinch of Ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Just made this for dinner tonight! It is perfect with potstickers. Had to use hot sesame oil because that is all we had. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

How To Make Tempura

Learn the Japanese method for making delicate batter-fried seafood and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States