Japanese Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
After I read the reviews stating that this recipe is 'bland' and tasted like 'onion flavored water', I made sure I added extra ingredients to the boiled 'mixture'. I halved the recipe, but more or less estimated on the amounts of vegetables. I used a couple dried shiitake mushrooms (I had my biggest one simmer in the pot) and regular white button mushrooms. As far as bouillion goes, three cubes of beef and three cubes of chicken bouillions were PERFECT. Add a chopped green onion or two and a couple dashes of black pepper- and it's heaven. Granted, I hated waiting the 45 minutes for the soup to reduce, but it was definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Maybe I did something wrong here, but my roommate says it tasted like "slightly flavored water" I agree. I followed all the directions, except mushrooms, and all I got was a pot full of oniony flavored water. I thought that only 3 teaspoons of bouillon and 2 tablespoons of stock sounded like a small amount...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This was fantastic - better than our favorite restaurant. Only change, omit the chicken stock and add 1 teaspoon of chicken boullion granules. And don't bother dicing up the veggies, just do a rough chop since they are discarded anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOCKLEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This approximated Benihana's onion soup, but didn't quite make it. Still good, though! I made mine in a pressure cooker by reducing the liquid to 5 cups (I should have done 4 cups) and adding all other ingredients as listed, except for chopped shiitakes. I just got some white sliced mushrooms from the produce section without checking their type, and poured the broth over those with some sliced green onions and french fried onions. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
We frequent a japanese steak house (Domo 77) that serves this, yummm. My 11 year old asked if I could make this, he loved it. So simple, but yet good. Thanks Sawako
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
So good!!! My husband and I ate almost the whole pot of soup just the two of us. My husband said that it was pretty spot-on to our local Japanese restaurant. And for him to say that with my complete lack of cooking skills, it is a pretty big compliment. I even brought some to work the next day and it tasted freshly made. We will definitely be making this again! Our changes: We don't eat mushrooms, so none were included. Instead of fresh ginger root, we used ground ginger from the seasoning isle. Instead of chicken stock, we used 3 chicken bouillon cubes. And we added an extra teaspoon of beef bouillon, making it 4 tsp of beef bouillon. *We used a cup of the soup and all of the vegetables to make our fried rice, so that nothing was wasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Absolutely loved this recipe. I've been looking for a Japanese Onion Soup recipe for years -- trying to mimick the local hibachi restaurant. This was IT! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I used six bouillon cubes and just let them dissolve in the water. After straining, I added some fried onions and (after letting it sit for a few minutes) it did taste just like Benihana's! Excellent and good for you. WIll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This soup is fabulous. It tastes similar to what you would get in a Japanese place. I love putting French's Fried Onion on top..yummy! Great easy soup to freeze as well for when you aren't feeling well. I eat this everytime I get sick (upset stomach, colds) and it warms me. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I gave this five stars because it tastes really good, is easy to make and the recipe is flexible. I used an entire white onion, a hand full of baby carrots, 2 cloves of garlic, 3 beef boullion cubes and a teaspoon of salt. I let it boil and simmer for an hour. It was delicious. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States