Japanese Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
It didn't have the specific taste I expected like I used to have at my favorite Japanese Steak House and my broth turned out kind of murky.Did I need more salt?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I think I put too many mushrooms in the stock (although I didn't add many), because it was waaay too mushroom-y. Next time I probably won't put any mushrooms in the stock, and just add some at the end. We didn't end up eating it, but I think it was fault of my own, so I didn't give it a bad rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
5 Stars; Very delicious! Thanks for the recipe; will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan and Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Absolutely loved this recipe. I've been looking for a Japanese Onion Soup recipe for years -- trying to mimick the local hibachi restaurant. This was IT! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I'm quite surprised at all of the positive reviews of this soup. It was extremely bland so I added salt & pepper but even that couldn't save the soup. I really did not care for the soup and would not make it again. I prefer something with more flavor and why it's called Japanese onion soup when it's really mushroom soup is the real mystery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This approximated Benihana's onion soup, but didn't quite make it. Still good, though! I made mine in a pressure cooker by reducing the liquid to 5 cups (I should have done 4 cups) and adding all other ingredients as listed, except for chopped shiitakes. I just got some white sliced mushrooms from the produce section without checking their type, and poured the broth over those with some sliced green onions and french fried onions. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Just like the soup served at our local Japanese place but with a little more bite. I didn't see how all the ingredients were going to work together but after simmering for the time specified they worked perfectly. Due to an extremely picky family I left out the mushrooms entirely. Luckily it still came together fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I was worried during the stock making process, when I tasted the stock, it just tasted like beef bouillon. I was tempted to try and doctor up the stock, but decided to wait, and give the veggies the alotted time to do their "mojo". Glad I did, because it ended up great. Really the only thing I did different, than the recipe was add a few dry Japanese Peppers. I also put thinly sliced green onions, in the bowl, instead of chives. My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I used six bouillon cubes and just let them dissolve in the water. After straining, I added some fried onions and (after letting it sit for a few minutes) it did taste just like Benihana's! Excellent and good for you. WIll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
We didn't use the mushrooms (personal pref) but it still turned out good and just like the Japanese steak house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States