Japanese Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
We added Black Thread fungus and the juices into the stock. Excellent, not enough onion though, never are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
It was very good, I was pleased with how it came out. No it's not Benihana's but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crowe4me

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I made this and it was great. The only thing I changed was I added a couple Tbs. miso and some tofu cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Hermiston, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I changed it up a little bit and it worked out great! What I did was double the recipe up by adding a whole stalk of celery and carrots. On the chicken stock I did one small can of chick broth and did 4-6 beef bouillon cubes..One thing to make it taste better is add more ginger like a tablespoon or 2... Strain it 3 or 4 times.. I strained it 2 normally and once using a coffee filter..Taking out the stringy pieces of mushroom that fall apart helps it taste better...Cook longer than 45 minutes!! Enjoy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was super yummy. I used all beef broth. When I pulled out the veggies I put in an additional half an onion and a tsp more ginger. I also added some cooked udon noodles for a full meal. Sooo good. We loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This is probably what authentic Japanese onion soup tastes like but, it just didn't taste like the same type of soup I have tasted in Japanese restaurants. The first time, I followed the recipe, just as it is written. The color of the broth was very pale and lacked flavor. The second time, I used only beef broth for the liquid and garnished each bowl with french fried onions. Magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luann Grover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Al Qurrayah, Northern, Bahrain
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This was fantastic - better than our favorite restaurant. Only change, omit the chicken stock and add 1 teaspoon of chicken boullion granules. And don't bother dicing up the veggies, just do a rough chop since they are discarded anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOCKLEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Great flavor, just needed a little salt to bring it out. Just a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by workncooknwork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was very close to what my wife and I get at the Japanese resteraunts. Fairly simple and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I loved this so much it was hard not to eat it all!!! The first time I made it, I didn't have the carrots...this time I did. I like it better without the carrots! Takes away from the flavor and neutralizes it too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States