Japanese Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
So good!!! My husband and I ate almost the whole pot of soup just the two of us. My husband said that it was pretty spot-on to our local Japanese restaurant. And for him to say that with my complete lack of cooking skills, it is a pretty big compliment. I even brought some to work the next day and it tasted freshly made. We will definitely be making this again! Our changes: We don't eat mushrooms, so none were included. Instead of fresh ginger root, we used ground ginger from the seasoning isle. Instead of chicken stock, we used 3 chicken bouillon cubes. And we added an extra teaspoon of beef bouillon, making it 4 tsp of beef bouillon. *We used a cup of the soup and all of the vegetables to make our fried rice, so that nothing was wasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Really watery with a bad aftertaste, the only flavor in there. We had to basically dump a tub of salt and pepper in there to make it edible. A for effort though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I enjoyed this soup, although it was alittle salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
It was really good, a bit bland. lol Makes you calm and sleepy:)'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.Allison23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
not that this soup wasn't tasty, but it was definitely not what i was looking for. It tasted more like beef top ramen than japanese onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I thought it was incredible--but that's only because I slightly changed the quantities of the ingredients. I've never tried it in the way that the recipe calls for. Instead, I use a full stalk of celery, half of a normal onion, a full carrot (but I used baby carrots, just approximated a full carrot out of them), used a full section of the garlic, 2 cups of any kind of mushroom, and used green onions as chives--according to someone who works at WalMart, they're the same thing. When I put the combination of the ingredients into the pan, I put in one cup of the mushrooms (in my case, either portabella or whole) in it, and used the other cup of them to top the soup. I also increased the amount of green onions since I always liked it in the Tokyo SteakHouse soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I gave this five stars because it tastes really good, is easy to make and the recipe is flexible. I used an entire white onion, a hand full of baby carrots, 2 cloves of garlic, 3 beef boullion cubes and a teaspoon of salt. I let it boil and simmer for an hour. It was delicious. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This soup is WONDERFUL. It tastes just like the soup at Japanese steak houses. It does take a little while to prepare, though. I save the simmered mixed vegetables and add them to my soup, but everyone else in my family prefers the soup as described in the recipe. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EricaSea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
We added Black Thread fungus and the juices into the stock. Excellent, not enough onion though, never are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
It was very good, I was pleased with how it came out. No it's not Benihana's but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crowe4me

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States