Japanese Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I loved this so much it was hard not to eat it all!!! The first time I made it, I didn't have the carrots...this time I did. I like it better without the carrots! Takes away from the flavor and neutralizes it too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Delicious! I've been craving this kind of soup for a couple of days now and I was going to just buy it, but I decided to make it. I actually used about 2 quarts of chicken broth and only a little water (maybe 1/2 quart water). I think the amount of water is maybe why some members complained about lack of flavor. I also sauteed the veggies in a little soy sauce before putting them in the broth. Awesome and super easy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This recipe was awesome! It was exactly what I wanted. I ended up using 2 extra large beef boullion cubes and 2 extra large chicken boullion cubes, and it was perfect. I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Not what I'd hoped for at all. Not alot of flavor and didn't taste like the yummy soup you get in the Japanese restaurants at all. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This is wonderful. I don't know why some people said it didn't taste like much because it has a ton of flavor. Along with the fresh chives I also added some French's fried onions (like what you use on green bean casserole) and it made it even better!! Not much effort for great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
After I read the reviews stating that this recipe is 'bland' and tasted like 'onion flavored water', I made sure I added extra ingredients to the boiled 'mixture'. I halved the recipe, but more or less estimated on the amounts of vegetables. I used a couple dried shiitake mushrooms (I had my biggest one simmer in the pot) and regular white button mushrooms. As far as bouillion goes, three cubes of beef and three cubes of chicken bouillions were PERFECT. Add a chopped green onion or two and a couple dashes of black pepper- and it's heaven. Granted, I hated waiting the 45 minutes for the soup to reduce, but it was definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, and there wasn't a single person in my family that was able to eat a bowl of this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverview, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
pretty good very simple (taste)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
this was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Maybe I did something wrong here, but my roommate says it tasted like "slightly flavored water" I agree. I followed all the directions, except mushrooms, and all I got was a pot full of oniony flavored water. I thought that only 3 teaspoons of bouillon and 2 tablespoons of stock sounded like a small amount...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States