Japanese Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Not what I'd hoped for at all. Not alot of flavor and didn't taste like the yummy soup you get in the Japanese restaurants at all. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This is wonderful. I don't know why some people said it didn't taste like much because it has a ton of flavor. Along with the fresh chives I also added some French's fried onions (like what you use on green bean casserole) and it made it even better!! Not much effort for great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
After I read the reviews stating that this recipe is 'bland' and tasted like 'onion flavored water', I made sure I added extra ingredients to the boiled 'mixture'. I halved the recipe, but more or less estimated on the amounts of vegetables. I used a couple dried shiitake mushrooms (I had my biggest one simmer in the pot) and regular white button mushrooms. As far as bouillion goes, three cubes of beef and three cubes of chicken bouillions were PERFECT. Add a chopped green onion or two and a couple dashes of black pepper- and it's heaven. Granted, I hated waiting the 45 minutes for the soup to reduce, but it was definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, and there wasn't a single person in my family that was able to eat a bowl of this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverview, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
pretty good very simple (taste)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
this was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Maybe I did something wrong here, but my roommate says it tasted like "slightly flavored water" I agree. I followed all the directions, except mushrooms, and all I got was a pot full of oniony flavored water. I thought that only 3 teaspoons of bouillon and 2 tablespoons of stock sounded like a small amount...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I am so happy that I found this recipe, even though I did alter it just a bit by adding more chicken stock and some black pepper for more of a bite just like at my local Japanese Steak House. Thanks so much for posting such a delicious and yummy recipe that warms the heart and soul! ♥ Cuddlebear90
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
this recipe is great! exactly what i have been looking for! just like my favorite oriental restaurants! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYBUGS5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was not exactly like the soup I am used to at our local restaurant, but I was pleased with the flavor, and it's a great way to keep me on track with Weight Watchers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States