Japanese Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I made this and it was great. The only thing I changed was I added a couple Tbs. miso and some tofu cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Hermiston, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I changed it up a little bit and it worked out great! What I did was double the recipe up by adding a whole stalk of celery and carrots. On the chicken stock I did one small can of chick broth and did 4-6 beef bouillon cubes..One thing to make it taste better is add more ginger like a tablespoon or 2... Strain it 3 or 4 times.. I strained it 2 normally and once using a coffee filter..Taking out the stringy pieces of mushroom that fall apart helps it taste better...Cook longer than 45 minutes!! Enjoy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was super yummy. I used all beef broth. When I pulled out the veggies I put in an additional half an onion and a tsp more ginger. I also added some cooked udon noodles for a full meal. Sooo good. We loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This is probably what authentic Japanese onion soup tastes like but, it just didn't taste like the same type of soup I have tasted in Japanese restaurants. The first time, I followed the recipe, just as it is written. The color of the broth was very pale and lacked flavor. The second time, I used only beef broth for the liquid and garnished each bowl with french fried onions. Magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luann Grover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Al Qurrayah, Northern, Bahrain
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This was fantastic - better than our favorite restaurant. Only change, omit the chicken stock and add 1 teaspoon of chicken boullion granules. And don't bother dicing up the veggies, just do a rough chop since they are discarded anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOCKLEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Great flavor, just needed a little salt to bring it out. Just a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by workncooknwork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was very close to what my wife and I get at the Japanese resteraunts. Fairly simple and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I loved this so much it was hard not to eat it all!!! The first time I made it, I didn't have the carrots...this time I did. I like it better without the carrots! Takes away from the flavor and neutralizes it too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Delicious! I've been craving this kind of soup for a couple of days now and I was going to just buy it, but I decided to make it. I actually used about 2 quarts of chicken broth and only a little water (maybe 1/2 quart water). I think the amount of water is maybe why some members complained about lack of flavor. I also sauteed the veggies in a little soy sauce before putting them in the broth. Awesome and super easy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This recipe was awesome! It was exactly what I wanted. I ended up using 2 extra large beef boullion cubes and 2 extra large chicken boullion cubes, and it was perfect. I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States