Japanese Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
It was a little bland at first, so I added a tablespoon of Miso paste and a couple dashes of soy sauce. The final product was absolutely delicious! I also recommend boiling some homemade potstickers in there for the last 10 minutes. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is my husband's favorite soup and he asks for it often. I'm not crazy about it and think it is a little on the bland side. It is very close to restaurant style. I'm not sure what is lacking but seems to be one ingredient off to me. It will still be in the rotation. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I really loved this recipe! I followed a previous suggestion and used water with 3 beef cubes and 3 chicken cubes. My broth looked darker and richer than what you get at restaurants but it tasted as good or better. I was really impressed. I added the crispy fried onions to the top (like my local spot does) and that was a yummy treat. This is a good soup and it's very easy! I will certainly make it again. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Kinda bland- mine didn't taste like the soup they serve in the Japanese restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This is delicious. I do add more veggies than it asks when i cook it to give it a little more flavor, but its delicious none the less. It has a nice delicate flavor just like at the restaurant. I prefer mine with extra chives and mushrooms in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
The first time I made this it was a little bland. I knew it was missing something. The next time I made this I added salt. Much much better with salt added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
After reading the review re: blandness, I decided not to strain out the vegetables. It seemed also to be such a waste of perfectly nice vegetables! I left them in, resulting in a very different soup, but very flavorful and somewhat hearty. As always, I added more ginger, garlic, chives because I enjoy very strong flavors. Would make again. Was fun to customize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crockster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Made as is the soup is bland and tasteless. I added an extra cube of Chicken bouillan, more garlic, extra salt and pepper as well as a Tbsp of soy sauce to obtain some taste. I think the soup has potential with a decent amount of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Don't forget the salt. I used turkey stock with no salt so it needed quite a bit. Fried onions would have added a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
So good!!! My husband and I ate almost the whole pot of soup just the two of us. My husband said that it was pretty spot-on to our local Japanese restaurant. And for him to say that with my complete lack of cooking skills, it is a pretty big compliment. I even brought some to work the next day and it tasted freshly made. We will definitely be making this again! Our changes: We don't eat mushrooms, so none were included. Instead of fresh ginger root, we used ground ginger from the seasoning isle. Instead of chicken stock, we used 3 chicken bouillon cubes. And we added an extra teaspoon of beef bouillon, making it 4 tsp of beef bouillon. *We used a cup of the soup and all of the vegetables to make our fried rice, so that nothing was wasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States