Japanese Okonomiyaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
My variation is that I leave out the gari and the bacon and add assorted seafood to the batter. It comes in a bag frozen and consists of shrimp, squid, mussels and scallops. Thaw out the seafood then just mix it in. It cooks up perfectly and tastes great with the okonomi-sauce and QP Mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
These were pretty good! I'm Japanese so it's a compliment :). I used Shrimp (cooked w/salt & pepper, little garlic butter and soy sauce) chopped it into the batter. I topped mine with mayonaise, tonkatsu sauce, bonita flakes and seasoned nori (seaweed). Reminds me of when I was a little girl in Japan. No more instant mixes ... no way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cscook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
The best place to get these is in Hiroshima, where it originated. Okonomiyaki is comprised of ingredients that the Japanese found left-over by the American soldiers that later came there during the war. This recipe could use some sprucing-up, but it is as good as it gets outside of Hiroshima.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bluffton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This is a very good Recipe. Everyone that I cooked it for loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: Astoria, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hot Chilli
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Fabulous! I love Okonomiyaki and this tasted just like the one from our local Japanese Restaurant. Will be making often. Thanks SHEVAUN1 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
The flavor of this dish was a little too strange for our tastes. My boyfriend said that the barbecue sauce paired with bacon was not so good. I left out the pickled ginger, however, so that might have something to do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Okonomiyaki reminds me of my childhood so I had to give this one a shot this past weekend. I did modify the recipe though so I guess my review doesn’t count so much. Used Dashi broth rather than water, dried shrimp rather than bacon, didn’t mix in the ginger but used it as a condiment (BTW- don’t use the type of pickled ginger you get with your sushi. There is another kind that is a deep red that is cut into little sticks), chopped the cabbage rather than sliced it, added ¼c chopped green onion, and topped with Okonomiyaki sauce, Kewpie mayonnaise (Japanese) and Aonori (green dried seaweed powder). My first batch needed to be cooked a little longer, a little too sticky. The second batch, which was topped also with an egg, came out just perfect. Boy, brings back memories! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shinjuku, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PARKER71
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
This can be a very versatile recipe. Not to mention very delicious as well. As the name suggests, okonomi means your favorite in Japanese. So you can add any of your favorite ingredients in okonomi-yaki. We made ours with shrimp, crab meat and shiitaki mushroom. Instead of water, we used dashi stock which adds more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I made this according to the recipe, with bacon and the ginger. My husband ate it just fine, but I didn't like it at all. I found the sauce and bacon were too salty. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I used shrimp to make this as suggested by others and cut down on the pickled ginger b/c I don't like it much. My hubby and I had a hard time making these b/c we weren't sure what to expect. Is it supposed to have more batter or more cabbage? After the first one we found a 'flipable' size and they turned out pretty good. Great taste and wonderfully cooked cabbage. Definately NOT traditional american greasy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States