Japanese Okonomiyaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
I thought I had a medium-head cabbage but mine must have been very large, even though it was the only size at my grocery store. I could have easily halved the amount of cabbage, because the batter was soon 80% diced cabbage, and that made it a little difficult to form and flip. Eventually I drastically cut the size of the individual pancakes and was decent at flipping them, but some still fell apart. Even so, the cabbage wilted enough while cooking that it wasn't hard to eat at all, but I still wish I had used less. I dissolved a beef bouillon into the water, but I don't know that it added much. Instead of using tonkatsu sauce, I used some sweet honey barbeque sauce which was very good. I topped the pancakes with mayonnaise, as some suggested, which I think is pretty necessary. The mayonnaise really has all of the fat and salt that the pancake itself lacks. I found that the bacon wasn't very crispy and I don't necessarily know that it needs that amount of crisp, but I would be interested to see what it would be like with dried shrimp like someone mentioned. When I reheated it, I ended up topping the mayonnaise with dried bacon bits then barbeque sauce, which was very good and I suggest that if you want the crunch, or maybe you don't have real bacon on you; it might be better for the texture anyway. I couldn't find pickled ginger so I diced some raw ginger up and threw that in the batter, which was subtle but I think pretty good. Overall it was very tasty and it reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
A good, simple recipe. Myself, I choose to put the bacon(I use bacon ends - more meat and better flavour) and some green onion in the pan just before the cabbage mix rather than pre cooking the bacon before making the mix. I also use about a half cup less flour as I find this recipe makes the mix too thick and results in the bacon burning on the bottom before it's ready to flip. Just to pretend it's healthy, I also add a few spoonfuls of hemp hearts to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This isn't how it was done in Hiroshima so I modified this quite a lot. For the batter I used an okonomiyaki flour mix for the base. You can get it at any Asian grocery store. Instead of bacon they used thicker slabs of pork. They also offered shrimp. They also fried noodles and put those onto the dish. Kewpie mayonnaise and bonito flakes made for an authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
So good, and much easier than I would have guessed. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This recipe is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamDMorrison
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Delicious! I left out the bacon to keep it vegetarian and only used 1/4 head of cabbage. It is so versatile and easy to make. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
made this as written with the exception of the ginger. (didn't have any) i have not had the authentic dish, so i am not quite sure how to compare. it was good; it was easy, and filling. not quite sure i'd make it again though. i had 1/2 head of cabbage to use up and this looked interesting. thanks for letting me try a new and unusual dish (for me!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
My husband would have adored this recipe except for the dashi made it way too salty for him. I will use water next time. But instead of bacon i used Eel and put Japanese mayo, okonomiyaki sauce and Japanese rice topping(salmon flavor) on it. He loved it all except for the actual pancake since it was too salty. I know know if it was the dashi i used or what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheelara
Home Town: Leeds, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I gave this two stars...However, I think I chopped my cabbage two thick. I am going to try it again and make sure to shred my cabbage on the thin and small side. I think that will improve the recipe greatly. I will update my review accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
My Japanese exchange student says this sounds just home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States