Japanese Ginger Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This is one of the best Ginger dressings I have ever tasted. The only 2 things I do differently are add 2 tablespoons of rice vinegar and use a grinding bowl instead of mincing the ginger. Grinding it makes it more pasty and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
This is FANTASTIC, and tastes like the japanese steakhouses! I added 1 T. of rice wine vinegar to cut the oil taste, and 1 t. of white pepper as a substitute for the black pepper, put all but the oil in a blender to puree, then added the sesame oil for the olive oil and added it in a steady steam to get the same consistency of the original from the restraunts...my friends and family are raving about it and say it is better than chocolate!!!! It is a MUST try !!! Sesame oil has a better flavor and seems lighter in taste than olive oil..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Great recipe! Though at first it came out bitter for me. I didn't give up though! I added a T. of rice wine vinegar like someone suggested and it helped a lot! But I added something else--white sugar! It helped some sweetness come out of it... so I suggest some white sugar if it's too bitter for anyone. I am a huge fan of japanese restaurants and my final outcome was delicious! I ate two salad bowls full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
This ginger dressing is very good, but it isn't what I'm looking for. I would like the one that they serve on salads in restaurants like Benihanas. I wonder if it needs sugared ginger?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
If I have to give this a star, it can only be 1! It was horrible!! I LOVE japanese restaurants and been to a few in my time and NONE of them serve a dressing that even "looks" like this one. What a waste of good olive oil! Hate to be so harsh, but this is NOT your typical japanese salad dressing!! I would say, if you were going to do this, that you could follow the directions for the spice mixture, but mix it with mayo instead of olive oil. I am half-tempted to try it that way myself, because it tasted fine before the olive oil was added. Just a thought for those of you who like to experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2001
My boyfriend loves it! He says it tastes better than you can get in a restaurant, the only problem is it is now the only dressing he will eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
I followed the recipie to the "T" and it tasted nothing like Ginger dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
Tangy, flavorful and delicous. I made a marinated grilled chicken salad with the Peanut Cilantro dip on this site and this dressing. Add some fresh mango and red pepper strips and cashews. It is now one of my favorite salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This was quite nice. I just poured it over a simple salad and I liked the ginger, garlicky taste it added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Did not like this dressing. I normally love Japanese style dressings, but this one was a bit too gingery for me. I added some Wasabi, but still didn't like it that much. It has a lot of potential but no follow-through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States