Japanese Ginger Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
This is FANTASTIC, and tastes like the japanese steakhouses! I added 1 T. of rice wine vinegar to cut the oil taste, and 1 t. of white pepper as a substitute for the black pepper, put all but the oil in a blender to puree, then added the sesame oil for the olive oil and added it in a steady steam to get the same consistency of the original from the restraunts...my friends and family are raving about it and say it is better than chocolate!!!! It is a MUST try !!! Sesame oil has a better flavor and seems lighter in taste than olive oil..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2001
My boyfriend loves it! He says it tastes better than you can get in a restaurant, the only problem is it is now the only dressing he will eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
Wonderful! I've tried other dressings, but this is the closest to my favorite Japanese Restaurant. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
Delicious dressing! I agree with other reviewer that a tablespoon of rice vinegar adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
this was DELICIOUS!!! i made it so fast and my husband loved it too! I didn't have the olive oil so I omitted that from the recipe and it was still delicious but without the extra fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
I thought this dressing was AWFUL. I couldn't even doctor it up and I really tried. Hated to waste good olive oil like that. Make sure you like this type of dressing before you make it. I didn't know and wanted to try something new. BAD EXPERIENCE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEAGAIN72461

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
I made this dressing and also added rice vinegar to it but the Japanese place I go to their dressing is a little thicker than what this is. I think I will try the sesame oil next time instead of the olive oil. It is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
I gave a small rating for the kids because neither one of my kids tried it...but my husband and I did! We are lovers of Japanese food restaurants and I've always wanted to try a recipe for the ginger dressing and I tried this one because of the previous reviews. First I want to say it was wonderful and my husband loves it as do I! I had always wanted to try to find a ginger dressing. This was the first one. It came out not as thick as the usual and I don't know why but it still tasted really great. I used ground ginger (since I already had it) instead of fresh ginger. I used the same amount of the ground as it said for the fresh. It wasn't as thick as the restaurant style. I DID use olive oil and followed the recipe otherwise. But it was more runny. Will try using fresh ginger the next time. Maybe that will increase the thickness. No matter what though...it was extremely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERN_GAL12000

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
I wasn't crazy about this dressing, and I typically love ginger dressing. I'm going to try replacing the olive oil with sesame oil, adding some rice wine vinager and cutting down on the soy sauce a bit, as previous reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Great recipe! Though at first it came out bitter for me. I didn't give up though! I added a T. of rice wine vinegar like someone suggested and it helped a lot! But I added something else--white sugar! It helped some sweetness come out of it... so I suggest some white sugar if it's too bitter for anyone. I am a huge fan of japanese restaurants and my final outcome was delicious! I ate two salad bowls full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States