Japanese Ginger Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This is a vinagarette dressing (not a mayonnaise- based dressing as you can tell if you read the ingredients). I followed some of the other reviewers suggestions and added some rice wine vinegar (1TBS) and some white vinegar (1TBS). I also added 1 TBS of white sugar. With these changes it tastes exactly like the ginger dressing served at every Japanese restaurant that I've ever visited. I made the salad with finely chopped carrots, green onions, and julienned cucumber over shredded lettuce, and served it alongside grilled steak. This was exactly what I was looking for. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodfan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Loved it just the way it was!! My husband gave it 5 stars and he doesn't do that often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I made a few modifications to this: I used half the lemon and added rice vinegar to taste instead. I didn't bother with the pepper (though if I had I think white pepper is more traditional.) I did use less soy sauce -- probably half as much. And I used powdered yellow mustard and not prepared mustard. It makes for a slightly runnier dressing, but it's nothing a little arrowroot couldn't cure if you insist on it being thick. I used my food processor -- first the ginger and garlic, then I added about 1/4 the olive oil and let it run until the texture was very fine. The taste came out just like the Japanese restaurant near my house. For those of you having problems with bitterness -- if you're reduced to buying fresh ginger at a major American grocery store -- find somewhere else. The stuff in normal grocery stores has sat around for goodness knows how long. I buy my ginger at an Asian market and it's always very fresh. Old ginger is tough and bitter. A store like Whole Foods or Fresh Market would be better if you don't live in an area that has Asian markets. For those having problems with the olive oil, I used a good quality extra virgin olive oil. I may use cheaper olive oils for other things, but for salad dressings I don't ever skimp. If you're using something like Bertolli's Light Olive Oil, that would make it bland and greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I love this recipe! I do agree with those who say that the olive oil adds more of an oily taste than a sesame oil might, but I still like it as described. It's very flavorful and it goes a long way-- also, it's incredibly inexpensive and quick to make. I've found that it stores very well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Was a good base. Added 2b tsp of Splenda and 2 tsp of Rice Wine Vinegar to suit my tastes. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Hatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Love it, but did add a few changes per other readers. Added rice vinegar and a little sugar. I let it sit overnight. All of my guests raved about it. I had to put out more salad so they could all have seconds,eve the one person that didn't normally use dressings on her salad had more. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This dressing is even better than most of the restaurants versions that I've tried. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I will give this four stars, even though this didn't come out well for me. This recipe calls for too much olive oil, but the other ingredients taste identical to the delicious Japanese steakhouse dressing. Next time I will only use 1/2- 2/3 cup olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This recipe is fantastic! I used a mixture of sesame oil and olive oil and the ginger gave a zing to the whole taste. I left out the mustard though, as I didn't have any. I will use this recipe in future instead of store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenny_d

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Soo good, soo good, little extra sesame oil and some wasabi too, WOW! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EyesDeLaSea

Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States