Japanese Ginger Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This was quite nice. I just poured it over a simple salad and I liked the ginger, garlicky taste it added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This was great. I scaled this down to make a smaller amount. I used a lot less oil than stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This is one of the best Ginger dressings I have ever tasted. The only 2 things I do differently are add 2 tablespoons of rice vinegar and use a grinding bowl instead of mincing the ginger. Grinding it makes it more pasty and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
287 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
If I have to give this a star, it can only be 1! It was horrible!! I LOVE japanese restaurants and been to a few in my time and NONE of them serve a dressing that even "looks" like this one. What a waste of good olive oil! Hate to be so harsh, but this is NOT your typical japanese salad dressing!! I would say, if you were going to do this, that you could follow the directions for the spice mixture, but mix it with mayo instead of olive oil. I am half-tempted to try it that way myself, because it tasted fine before the olive oil was added. Just a thought for those of you who like to experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
This is a wonderful dressing! Nice ginger taste...not at all overpowering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNTHLANE1
Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
This didn't taste at all like the dressing I eat at Japanese resturants. Maybe it's in the olive oil. Just seemed strong to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I was looking for the ginger dressing they make in sushi restaurants, and this was not it. I really tried doctoring it up even though I am by no means a experienced cook. I used sesame oil, but felt it was entirely way to oily, so I added more ginger, honey, and mustard. I then added some mayonaise to make it a little creamier. What i ended up with was a little too gingery, but closer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittyball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
This recipe is pretty good, but I made a couple of changes. I used 3 Tablespoons of honey and only 1 teaspoon of ginger, plus I added sesame oil to taste. On the salad I added chow mein noodles to use as croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
Oh, this was a very nice dressing! I'm not sure if it was exactly like what we have at the japanese restaurant, but it's a very good homemade version. I followed one of the reviewers and added rice wine vinegar and some granulated sugar (about 1 tbsp each). Thanks for the recipe. We'll be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
I made this cause I wanted to try something different, and everyone loves it. My mom actually took the rest of the dressing and wouldnt give it back. The only thing I did was add more garlic, since I am a garlic freak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States