Japanese Ginger Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This is really delicious! I have made it several times. This will spice up any salad. It left me wanting more. I could drink this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I've been making this dressing since last year. I made some changes though, such as substituting 50% of the olive oil for sesame oil, plus adding 2x the amount of fresh ginger root in the original recipe. (It is a ginger dressing after all, isn't it?). I also sprinkled some sea salt, not considered in the original recipe. In addition, instead of wasting time mincing the garlic and the ginger, I cut up both of them in middle-size chunks; add the rest of the ingredients EXCEPT THE OIL, and put the whole thing in a food processor. After getting a very smooth mix, I add up the 50-50 oil little by little. The final product has made me get a lot of compliments and this dressing happens to be my wife's favorite !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Very good dressing. I used grape seed oil instead of olive oil and a couple teaspoons of sesame oilfor a lighter taste. also used a blender rather than the whisk. The only other change was I used rice wine vinegar instead of Lemon juice. Will make over and over! bet it would also be good tossed with grilled or steamed vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Martin
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This "Japanese Ginger Salad Dressing" definitely needed to be strained. The first day I made this I was convinced the recipe must be missing something because it was so oily and inedible (1 star). Based on other reviews, I imagined it would taste better on the second day, so I stashed it in the fridge. On the second day I found it did taste better but was so stringy I wouldn't eat it (2 stars). I did use a ginger grater to grate my ginger. After straining the salad dressing to remove the ginger pulp as a last resort, it did in fact taste quite good (4 stars with adjusted preparation). Thank you Paula for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Delicious!!! Exactly what I was looking for. I used canola oil instead of olive oil to avoid the bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoyita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Three easy changes to make this awesome- 1)I use canola oil instead of olive oil (more neutral flavor) 2)I add a handful of chopped baby carrots (this is traditionally served as a carrot ginger dressing) 3)I do not whisk this- use a food processor and blend until smooth adding the oil a little at a time. You'll have a smooth texture and visually pleasing dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I cut recipe in half and thought it was bland and bitter and jazzed it up with a TB of tahini and Ts sugar. It made it awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This is also a killer marinade for both steaks and poultry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefsulli53

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Just made this and tastes just like Kanpai Steak House. A little darker in color, but very close. I used organic ginger and raw honey. Instead of a wisk, my grandmother's antique eggbeater. Kanpai's charges a small fortune for this. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jim johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abbie
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This dressing is really good! I did think it needed more sweetener. I added two tsp Truvia but it still wasn't sweet enough for me so I added about 2 more tsp honey. This made it perfect! I also blended the soy sauce, lemon, etc. in the blender then slowly poured in the oil while it was on med. speed. Once it was done I stirred in about two Tbsp sesame seeds. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States