Japanese Ginger Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
After reading the modifications already posted, I remembered that Olive Oil does have a very strong taste so I used 1/2 cup Olive Oil, 1/4 cup Grapeseed oil and 1/4 Almond Oil. Instead of straight soy sauce I used something called Soyaki from Trader joe's. This was the first time I tried this recipe and with these modifications, not only did I like it a awful lot but my picky spouse decided he liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was exactly what I was looking for. I don't know if I had a full 3 tablespoons of ginger. I also dialed back the soy just a little bit. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: North Webster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Absolutly love this dressing!! I don't enjoy salads very much because of the dressings i buy, but this has changed my perspective! I look forward to eating salads now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Good, but I made a couple changes. I did half seseme oil and half olive oil. I double (or even tripled) up on the honey and mustard since the soy sauce took saltiness to the extreme. To thicken the dressing I added 2 T of mayo and 1T of corn starch. Before refridgerating I stuck it all in the blender to emulsify better than just whisking... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taymay13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I love Japanese food and this dressing is better than I have had at my favorite restaurant! I have to keep this in my refrigerator to use everyday. Love it!! I usually add a little more ginger than the recipe calls for because I love the peppery bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This is a vinagarette dressing (not a mayonnaise- based dressing as you can tell if you read the ingredients). I followed some of the other reviewers suggestions and added some rice wine vinegar (1TBS) and some white vinegar (1TBS). I also added 1 TBS of white sugar. With these changes it tastes exactly like the ginger dressing served at every Japanese restaurant that I've ever visited. I made the salad with finely chopped carrots, green onions, and julienned cucumber over shredded lettuce, and served it alongside grilled steak. This was exactly what I was looking for. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodfan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Loved it just the way it was!! My husband gave it 5 stars and he doesn't do that often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I made a few modifications to this: I used half the lemon and added rice vinegar to taste instead. I didn't bother with the pepper (though if I had I think white pepper is more traditional.) I did use less soy sauce -- probably half as much. And I used powdered yellow mustard and not prepared mustard. It makes for a slightly runnier dressing, but it's nothing a little arrowroot couldn't cure if you insist on it being thick. I used my food processor -- first the ginger and garlic, then I added about 1/4 the olive oil and let it run until the texture was very fine. The taste came out just like the Japanese restaurant near my house. For those of you having problems with bitterness -- if you're reduced to buying fresh ginger at a major American grocery store -- find somewhere else. The stuff in normal grocery stores has sat around for goodness knows how long. I buy my ginger at an Asian market and it's always very fresh. Old ginger is tough and bitter. A store like Whole Foods or Fresh Market would be better if you don't live in an area that has Asian markets. For those having problems with the olive oil, I used a good quality extra virgin olive oil. I may use cheaper olive oils for other things, but for salad dressings I don't ever skimp. If you're using something like Bertolli's Light Olive Oil, that would make it bland and greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I love this recipe! I do agree with those who say that the olive oil adds more of an oily taste than a sesame oil might, but I still like it as described. It's very flavorful and it goes a long way-- also, it's incredibly inexpensive and quick to make. I've found that it stores very well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Was a good base. Added 2b tsp of Splenda and 2 tsp of Rice Wine Vinegar to suit my tastes. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Hatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States