Japanese Ginger Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
The ingredient list is spot on, but not the quantities. So experiment until you get those right for your own taste. For me, it turned out to be 1:1 oil to fresh squeezed lemon juice. Next time I will try adding grated carrot and/or sesame oil. But this combination of ingredients was spectacular. I would have given it 5 stars if the quantities had been better to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This recipe did not turn out for me. I'm not sure how it turned out for other folks, but it was inedible for us. We crushed up the ginger in a mortar in pestle after chopping it, but it was tough and bitter (I'm wondering if maybe a food processor/blender is the way to go). And the dressing base had way too much soy. Not what I was looking for at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This is NOTHING like the dressings in the restaurants. First of all, those dressings aren't oil based, so this doesn't have the right consistency. Secondly, it has WAY too much soy sauce. I tried cutting it with some sugar, but it's still all I can taste. This might be ok as a marinade, but truly awful as a salad dressing, especially if you were expecting the tangy, orange-y dressing they serve in steakhouses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I just made this in the food processor with the following tweaks: - I peeled the ginger root and then threw the entire root in - I peeled and removed the seeds from the lemon and then threw the lemon in, pulp and all - followed others' suggestions by doing 1/2 olive oil, 1/2 peanut oil This gave the dressing a thicker consistency. Very tasty! I used to live in Tokyo and this is very close to what I enjoyed there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I used two teaspoons of Splenda powder instead of the Honey, and added a teaspoon of Balsamic Vinegar. It was not the same color or consistency of the dressings at our local Japanese steakhouse, but the taste was pretty close. Overall, a win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Delicious! I used half olive oil, half sesame oil (like others recommended), and substituted ground ginger since I didn't have any fresh. I added the ginger last, beginning with about 1/8 t and kept adding until it tasted good. I probably used about 1/2 t altogether. I used to live in Japan. This reminds me of my time there. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Buckley Grant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I love this dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This is an acceptable dressing, but I found it rather bland for a ginger dressing. Even after several days in the fridge, you can barely taste the ginger. If I make this again I would double the ginger at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Our family loved this and I will make it over and over again. I did use some toasted sesame oil in it and it turned out fantastic. (And my hubby claims he doesn't like ginger...Loved it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This was sooooo good! The only thing I changed is that I juiced my ginger until I had about 1/4 cup and used that instead of mincing the ginger. It was amazing! Everyone in the house loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States