Japanese Ginger Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Three easy changes to make this awesome- 1)I use canola oil instead of olive oil (more neutral flavor) 2)I add a handful of chopped baby carrots (this is traditionally served as a carrot ginger dressing) 3)I do not whisk this- use a food processor and blend until smooth adding the oil a little at a time. You'll have a smooth texture and visually pleasing dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This "Japanese Ginger Salad Dressing" definitely needed to be strained. The first day I made this I was convinced the recipe must be missing something because it was so oily and inedible (1 star). Based on other reviews, I imagined it would taste better on the second day, so I stashed it in the fridge. On the second day I found it did taste better but was so stringy I wouldn't eat it (2 stars). I did use a ginger grater to grate my ginger. After straining the salad dressing to remove the ginger pulp as a last resort, it did in fact taste quite good (4 stars). Thank you Paula for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I cut recipe in half and thought it was bland and bitter and jazzed it up with a TB of tahini and Ts sugar. It made it awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This is also a killer marinade for both steaks and poultry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefsulli53

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Just made this and tastes just like Kanpai Steak House. A little darker in color, but very close. I used organic ginger and raw honey. Instead of a wisk, my grandmother's antique eggbeater. Kanpai's charges a small fortune for this. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abbie
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This dressing is really good! I did think it needed more sweetener. I added two tsp Truvia but it still wasn't sweet enough for me so I added about 2 more tsp honey. This made it perfect! I also blended the soy sauce, lemon, etc. in the blender then slowly poured in the oil while it was on med. speed. Once it was done I stirred in about two Tbsp sesame seeds. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
The ingredient list is spot on, but not the quantities. So experiment until you get those right for your own taste. For me, it turned out to be 1:1 oil to fresh squeezed lemon juice. Next time I will try adding grated carrot and/or sesame oil. But this combination of ingredients was spectacular. I would have given it 5 stars if the quantities had been better to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This recipe did not turn out for me. I'm not sure how it turned out for other folks, but it was inedible for us. We crushed up the ginger in a mortar in pestle after chopping it, but it was tough and bitter (I'm wondering if maybe a food processor/blender is the way to go). And the dressing base had way too much soy. Not what I was looking for at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This is NOTHING like the dressings in the restaurants. First of all, those dressings aren't oil based, so this doesn't have the right consistency. Secondly, it has WAY too much soy sauce. I tried cutting it with some sugar, but it's still all I can taste. This might be ok as a marinade, but truly awful as a salad dressing, especially if you were expecting the tangy, orange-y dressing they serve in steakhouses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I just made this in the food processor with the following tweaks: - I peeled the ginger root and then threw the entire root in - I peeled and removed the seeds from the lemon and then threw the lemon in, pulp and all - followed others' suggestions by doing 1/2 olive oil, 1/2 peanut oil This gave the dressing a thicker consistency. Very tasty! I used to live in Tokyo and this is very close to what I enjoyed there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States