Japanese Ginger Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I doubled the recipe and marinated it for 2 hours... was absolutely delicious! Definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone Poyhia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Delicious! I used Kurubota pork, sliced very thinly for Korean spicy pork bulgogi. Added more ginger, sliced some onions and added in the pan fry, and served with brown rice and steamed vegetables. I also threw some chopped green onions on top and bought some grated ginger from the asian market nearby. So quick to throw together on a weekday night. Will try with chicken, but I'm sure I'll be making this recipe over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
My family and I really liked this recipe! Changes made: tripled the fresh grated ginger, added 1 large clove of garlic, chopped; doubled the liquid marinade ingredients, and added 1 Tblsp. agave nectar. Then I took about 2/3 of the marinade and sealed it up with the pork in a bag for 2 hours. Added 2/3 c. of chicken broth (low sodium), 1 Tblsp. good sesame oil, and 2 tsp. cornstarch to the REMAINING marinade. I only sprayed the saute pan, didn't use the oil in the recipe. After the meat was cooked, I threw in the reserved marinade. Cooked up saucy and so good! I would add a touch more sweetener next time. Excellent and no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKblumchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I didn't have mirin, so I substituted using sake and a pinch of sugar. It was good, but because it doesn't produce much sauce, we found it a bit dry, even using all of the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Excellent! I knew I would love this as I grew up eating dishes flavored with Mirin, Sake and ginger. I doubled the marinade and added a little more grated ginger. I marinated the pork loin for about 6 hours before sautéing. I sautéed the pork on high heat stirring and cooking until brown and meat looked crispy. I cooked the meat in three small batches, drained the grease, wiping the pan clean with paper towel before adding the next batch of meat. The kitchen quickly filled up with the aroma of this marinade. This was quick and easy with wonderful results! The pork was tender and flavorful infused with the succulent marinade. Mmmm. The ginger is pronounced but it is not overpowering. I paired this with hot rice, “Oriental Green Bean Salad,” and “Easy Bok Choy,” also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Delicious, easy to cook, and fast cooking. Served with pork fried rice and salad with ginger dressing. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
The pork was so tender! It absolutely needed double the amount of ginger and a little more soy. I served mine over a little bit of sticky rice and lots of shredded cabbage as suggested. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sonora, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
FANTASTIC!!! Thank you for sharing your recipe. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is fantastic, it's become a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
be careful with the oil just use a little the meat will come out greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States