Japanese Ginger Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Delicious! I marinated this for about 24 hours and it was amazing. I used a 2 pound pork tenderloin so I doubled the marinade. Next time I will triple it and reserve some to pour over rice when serving. I also used some of the leftovers the next morning for breakfast. I diced a little bit of onion with the pork and put used it in my eggs in place of ham. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Definitely was better with a longer marinade. Really good, I just tend to rank 5 stars for the things that I taste in my dreams and wake up wanting to prepare more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEYAWPER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I loved this! The flavors were delicate and it went well with rice. You definitely have to be careful what else you serve so you don't overpower the flavor of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Awesome! I marinated a thinly sliced pork tenderloin for about 3 hours, then drained the meat reserving the marinade. Stir-fried the meat over high heat in a large skillet until nicely browned then added the reserved marinade plus some water to deglaze the pan (& glaze the meat!) Served on a bed of thinly sliced cabbage that had been sauteed with onion in wok oil until tender (with a little dark sesame oil for more flavor). A bit of soy sauce was added to the cabbage right before plating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Hubby and I both loved this recipes. I did , however, use probably 2x of the ginger it called for. Be sure to use real fresh ginger root. I grated mine. It goes very well with steamed rice, steamed/boiled cabbage or lettuce. :) Thank you so much. I love the sauce as well. Also, A word of advice if you are using cut up pork tenderloin. It will work and very well, but make sure the strips aren't too thick. With strips, the marinade needs to be stronger so the flavor would soak through. If you don't have too much time to marinade it, be sure to beat it in a bag (tenderize) before hand. I know some of us are trying to use the less fatty cuts, this tip and recipe is definitely good for those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This is a great recipe! I put it on top of thinly sliced cabbage and serve with rice. Tastes just like it is from Japan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Excellent dish, very easy and tasty. For this recipe, I sliced up 4 pork chops and doubled the marinade with great results. I added some extra ginger (big fan) and also saved some marinade to reduce and add as a sauce at the end. My Japanese mother-in-law has taught me a great trick for cooking meat like this. It's best to cook in small batches that don't overlap in the (non-stick) pan. After each batch, drain off excess oil and wipe clean with a paper towel. This keeps the meat and marinade from getting to burned. This works well for any meat that is cut into small pieces and saucy from a marinade. Hubby says it was just like mom's cooking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Delicious and tender. I added more ginger and doubled the mirin because my soy sauce is quite salty. I marinated over for 24 hours, and put aside extra for sauce. Cooked extra hot and in plenty of oil as per instructions. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
This didn't have a lot of flavour. Kind of salty with a slight ginger taste but that's it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I used chicken for this recipe and added an additional tablespoon of ginger it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Troutdale, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States