Japanese Fruit Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
Utterly delicious! I grew up in the American South, where Japanese fruit pie is nearly as traditional as pecan pie. I like this pie even better than pecan pie. The combination of pecans, raisins, and coconut suspended in a chess-pie type of filling is wonderfully rich and toothsome. This is a pie for the Thanksgiving feast, for sure, and for Christmas dinner, too. In fact, I think this would be a good pie for any chilly autumn or winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Easy, to make. Nice change from traditional pies. The vinegar gives it a little something extra. A family favorie. I had to make some for Christmas presents upon request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I love this Pie. Living in the south, each Thanksgiving and Christmas it's the same meal. With the same Pecan Pies. Unless, you shake it up a little, and with this pie you most definitely shake. This is a must try, NOT only for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Church Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
My family has been making this wonderful pie for years, since my mother was given the recipe by a southern friend. I made it recently for my husband, a midwesterner. He thought the ingredients sounded strange, but LOVED the results! This is a classic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I made this pie on a Saturday and it was all gone by Sunday. Although the pie is really sweet it is also utterly delicious. Thaks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
This recipe is oh so easy and delicious. I recently donated this pie to our VFD fund raiser auction. It brought $60 and a request for a copy of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
This is one of the easiest pies ever. Everyone requested seconds. This will definetely become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I grew up on this pie, the taste is great......however I am rating the whole recipe....this does not make enough filling to fill my crust. If I were rating solely on taste I would give it 5 stars. I will definitely make this again, it is great, but I will increase ingredients to 1-1/2 to 2 times so it will fill my pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
We've made this pie for years, ever since my daughter was in girl scouts, and her leader made it for them! A family favorite. We have found that it is perfect after about 30-35 minutes..a bit dry with 40.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela Cahoon McClanahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grantsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was really good. I added crushed pineapple to it also,and I didn't add the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States