Japanese Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
LOVE!!This recipe just the way it is. My friend's request these wings every 4th of July. I can't figure out how folk's can rate a recipe, but totally switch the ingredient's..and or change the measurement's. If you changed the recipe as written..did you really like it??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
All loved this!!! I followed almost exactly but I only used 1/2 C. sugar, I think I could have gone w/ less. I never made wings before but these were good! I actually used the butter to fry them in and I guarantee I will try something more healthy next time. It took way longer than 1 hour if you factor in prep. time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I read another review and decided to bake instead of fry - well, sort of. I put a few pats of butter and several large spoonfuls of coconut oil into a broiler pan (foil lined) and then placed the flour dredged wings (didn't use egg, the flour stuck just fine)side by side in it. I cooked in a 400 degree oven, 20 minutes on each side, but I did kick it up to 450 in the last 5 minutes (only one drumette was overcooked, the rest of the wings and drumettes were perfect). I also doubled the sauce (using my own homemade garlic/soy sauce) because there never seems to be enough and I'm glad I did. I poured half over them and the other half when I flipped, making sure to stir thoroughly. WOW! This was like candied, garlic chicken wings!!! Amazingly good and sticky! YUM! Definitely a keeper and SO EASY! Oh, we ate them with a little ranch dressing, uberlicious! Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
i took the advice i read in one of the reviews and oven fried the chicken. i also cut the sugar in half and used 1/4 cup rice vinegar & 1/4 cup white vinegar. yum yum yum! since i made about half the amount of chicken wings called for, i took the rest of the sauce, added 1/4 cup orange juice & a little bit of cornstarch and cooked it down to make a delicious dip for the wings. definitely a recipe to keep! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: Würzburg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I made this recipe exact to the directions, along with two more flavors of wings.my grandma ate them along with my parents sonandwife ,,,,, This recipe was the house favorite in a blind taste test!!!!! Thanks for this recipe itwill go great for football season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Awesome. I halved the amount of sugar since a full cup seemed a little like overkill, and they turned out wonderful. Family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Great chicken! We made a big batch of chicken, but were concerned that the smaller children wouldn't like it, so we made some just fried with no sauce. WOW! There was so much plain chicken left that we scraped sauce from the pan to pour over the plain chicken. We have been making this weekly by popular demand and it is always devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Excellent plan on using this recipe quite often now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zyxwv

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gibraltar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Enjoy cooking with butter. It's not as smelly as with oil, and the wings turned out really good. I cut the sugar amount somewhat, to keep the wings from being too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
great recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 861) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States