Japanese Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I tried this recipe without the egg, flour, butter frying and just used the marinade and grilled them. They were great. Tonight I tried the recipe as listed and it just seemed like too much. I had a film of butter on my tongue afterwards (and I only used half of what the recipe called for). I give the sauce a thumbs up and the frying a thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BGreen502

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I loved it!! It was soo good!! but I did marinade the wing in teriyaki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Decent recipe, moist meat, lacks too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This is my first recipe I tried off of Allrecipes. I loved it! To make a healthier version, I used olive oil, Whole wheat flour and Splenda and Mrs. Dash. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
LOVE!!This recipe just the way it is. My friend's request these wings every 4th of July. I can't figure out how folk's can rate a recipe, but totally switch the ingredient's..and or change the measurement's. If you changed the recipe as written..did you really like it??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
All loved this!!! I followed almost exactly but I only used 1/2 C. sugar, I think I could have gone w/ less. I never made wings before but these were good! I actually used the butter to fry them in and I guarantee I will try something more healthy next time. It took way longer than 1 hour if you factor in prep. time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I read another review and decided to bake instead of fry - well, sort of. I put a few pats of butter and several large spoonfuls of coconut oil into a broiler pan (foil lined) and then placed the flour dredged wings (didn't use egg, the flour stuck just fine)side by side in it. I cooked in a 400 degree oven, 20 minutes on each side, but I did kick it up to 450 in the last 5 minutes (only one drumette was overcooked, the rest of the wings and drumettes were perfect). I also doubled the sauce (using my own homemade garlic/soy sauce) because there never seems to be enough and I'm glad I did. I poured half over them and the other half when I flipped, making sure to stir thoroughly. WOW! This was like candied, garlic chicken wings!!! Amazingly good and sticky! YUM! Definitely a keeper and SO EASY! Oh, we ate them with a little ranch dressing, uberlicious! Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
i took the advice i read in one of the reviews and oven fried the chicken. i also cut the sugar in half and used 1/4 cup rice vinegar & 1/4 cup white vinegar. yum yum yum! since i made about half the amount of chicken wings called for, i took the rest of the sauce, added 1/4 cup orange juice & a little bit of cornstarch and cooked it down to make a delicious dip for the wings. definitely a recipe to keep! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: Würzburg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I made this recipe exact to the directions, along with two more flavors of wings.my grandma ate them along with my parents sonandwife ,,,,, This recipe was the house favorite in a blind taste test!!!!! Thanks for this recipe itwill go great for football season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Awesome. I halved the amount of sugar since a full cup seemed a little like overkill, and they turned out wonderful. Family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 855) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States