Japanese Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I oven fried my wings (seasoned them with season salt, garlic and pepper) and floured them. I didnt use the egg, instead after I floured them I sprayed them with pam. They came out nice and crispy, I baked them at 400. After they were "fried" in the oven, I added the sauce and it was perfect. Great recipe and I was glad that I was able to make them healthier by oven frying them. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
513 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
These are soooo good! I had a chicken wing night in which I prepared these, the Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings, and the Honey Lime Chicken Wings. They all were great, but these Japanese Chicken Wings were our favorite. So sweet, so flavorful, so crispy, so moist! One word of caution... line your roasting/baking pan with sturdy aluminum foil. The sugar/vinegar sauce gets very gooey near the end of the baking portion of the recipe and can be tough to clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
I did not fry my wings. I baked the wings with a little seasoning salt on both sides for about 30 to 45 minutes. Then I poured the sauce on them and baked them for an add'l 30 to 45 minutes. Make sure you baste the wings w/the sauce during baking. They were EXCELLENT!! Thanks, Tracy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I definitely suggest making this recipe without the egg, flour or frying. I don't like to fry food unless it is really necessary to improve the taste and in this case it isn't necessary and in my opinnion does not inprove taste. To make my chicken I used wings, cut them up and put them in a bowl. I then poured about 1-2 teaspoons of extra virgin olive oil on them and made sure all the wings had a light coating of oil. I then placed the wigs on a broiler pan and put them in the oven (set to broil) until the wings were brown on one side and then I browned the other side. This is much faster than frying, uses much less oil and is much healthier. I then put the wings in a baking dish with the sauce mixture from the recipe (I only used half a cup of sugar) and cooked them in the oven like the recipe says. This way tasted much better than frying (in my opinion). But also, this way, the wings are less crispy. If you want crispy wings you better fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Sorry to have to give this one a negative rating. While the finished product looked and smelled wonderful and was relatively easy to prepare, the taste was overpoweringly sweet. I should have known better, but given the high ratings, thought that all these reviewers can't be wrong. Some mentioned adding cayenne pepper to "balance the sweetness" but in retrospect, I'm rather inclined believe that there's something a little wrong with a chicken dish that has as much sugar in it as an average dessert. Perhaps I'd use it again as an appetizer where you'd only eat one or two, but as a main dish for already sugar-addicted kids I'd vote no.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
WOW this recipe is awesome. I first tried it about 3 months ago and have been making it all the time since then. I did tweak it a little though-i placed the wings in a pan and sprinkled them generously with garlic powder and paprika-then sprayed them with pam. I baked them at 375 for 35 min-then i flipped them respiced them and baked them for another 25 min. After that i poured on the sauce and baked them another 20-25 min. I find this recipe very quick and easy and it is always a hit with my guests. You wont regret trying this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sushihead

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2003
These were FABULOUS!!!!! i did try something different though when i made this in order to at least try and cut some of the fat. Instead of frying the wings i simply washed them, patted them dry, seasoned and put them under the broiler. I turned them over and over again and they end up very crispy. I then drained the fat and followed by adding the sauce. With the added corn starch, the sauce ends up very thick and rich Served it with coconut rice and grilled veggies. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
Loved it! I changed a lot (like using cut up bone/skinless breasts instead of wings) and lightly frying in very little olive oil. Once breasts were cooked I added the rest of the mixture to the skillet and simmered for about 30 minutes. The longer you simmer the thicker the sauce gets. We served this on lettuce for a chicken salad. The sauce was so good, as a dressing, that my husband wants this to be in the weekly rotation of recipes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I made these wings for my boyfriend and his best friend last night and they were a hit! I made double the sauce and set half of it aside, then later heated it to a rolling boil on the stove in a sauce pan until the sauce thickened to a syrup consistency. I also took the chicken wings out of the sauce they were cooking in and placed them on a cookie sheet in the oven for about 15 mins. to crisp them up a little bit. We then ate the wings using the thickened sauce as a dip. It was great! I will try marinating next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Awesome! I used only 1/2 of the sugar recipe calls for and used half white vinegar and half seasoned rice vinegar found in Asian markets. I tried 3 different cooking variations: 1)followed the recipe's cooking method using butter to fry in before putting it in the oven. This was good, but I felt the butter overpowered the goodness of the sauce -btw, I LOVE butter, but frying the wings in butter was a step you can definitely omit and save the calories on. 2) I followed reviewers suggestions and oven-fried. I coated with egg & flour and baked @ 400 for 25 min turning once then added sauce and baked additional 30 min @ 350. This was by far the best. The skin was nice and crispy and the sauce was fabulous. 3) I coated with egg and panko flakes, baked @400 for 25 turning once, added sauce, baked addition 30 @350. This was also good and my second favorite. the panko really soaks up the sauce and gives the wing a more sweet-sticky coat then a crispy-sticky. so it depends on your taste. For all 3 variations, once the sauce was added (lined baking sheet with foil for easier cleanup), I turned the wings a few times and then removed the wings from the sauce and placed on fresh foil over baking sheet for the last 5 min.Can't wait to make it again! I forgot to add the sesame seeds like the pictures show and really wish I didn't. I'm sure the sesame seeds are a perfect touch..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aegibear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 852) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States