Japanese Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Thanks for the recipe! This is a good recipe for a light cheesecake! Those who are looking for the tiramisu, custard-like kind of cheesecakes may not like this. I don't think this recipe is for that kind of cheesecakes. I did eat Japanese cheesecakes with this texture before, so I'd like to defend this recipe against people thinking that this is not a "traditional" Japanese cheesecake! There are different kinds of Japanese cheesecakes and this is just one of them! I've been looking for a cheesecake recipe like this one for a long time. It was frustrating that all I could find was the custard-like kind of cheesecakes. I made mine with fat-free cream cheese and skimmed milk, so I think that took away the flavor a little. I'll make it with original cream cheese and whole milk next time. I'd also like to add a little bit more sugar. Again, great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Delicious, but more like a pound cake, hence the lower rating. Everyone in my family loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
We liked this very much. Not what you think of an American cheesecake - rich creamy lucious. This had a very nice flavor, not too sweet, not too rich and it doesn't hang on the hips and the arteries either. I've already made it again. Will still make a regular cheesecake from time to time but this was a very nice treat for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I really love this recipe cause it is so fluffly and softly cheesecake. I doulbed this recipe and it has gone in the blink of eyes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Takamatsu, Kagawa, Japan
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
perhaps it's my oven or something... this didnt work for me. The texture was wrong , i'm not sure if it is because of the cornflour or too much eggs. tasted more eggy than cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wobblejelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Mine sunk and was mushy. I might give it a try in the future but a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I decided to use this recipe when i was looking for a quick fix snack with very few ingredients. I would never try this recipe again. It was tasteless and bland. My three year old wouldn't even eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by remard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
it was okay....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
My friend and I made this cake. I've lived in Japan for a year and have eaten cheese cake there; this is not similar to what they have. I loved Japanese cheese cake. This cake looked perfect...but it tasted the same as a pancake. Her 2 year old daughter loved it...but we really didn't care for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I tried this out today, tripled the recipe & it turned out yummy! Dad loved it. Although the egg smell is pretty strong, it's very light and similar to sponge cake. You can taste the cream cheese but it isn't overpowering. Will definitely try this again but maybe will add some flavouring to lessen the egginess of it (citrus? lemon? orange? vanilla? pandan? lemongrass?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States