Japanese Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Problems falling, just like baking any cheesecake, crack the oven and let it cool down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
It is simple and easy. My family loved it. It reminds my family of quiche more than anything but if you top it with blueberries it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This was my first time baking a cheesecake. I like this recipe because it doesn't use as much cream cheese, which makes this a light cheesecake. I halved the recipe to make a small cheesecake and added a tablespoon of freshly squeezed lemon juice. It turned out wonderfully! Just like the japanese cheesecakes from asian bakeries. Light like a spongecake (as i think it should be), yet still delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
This was really good. I tried it with fat-free and regular cream cheese and all came out very fluffy and smooth. It looked really nice too. I also added a bit of lemon juice to the egg whites because i didn't have any cream of tartar. The slight tartness was good. The bottom of the cake will be a little wet when a toothpick is inserted even when it is fully cooked. Upon cooling it will be fine! loved it my family devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This was delicious. I made it 3 times and it was gone within a few minutes. I am going to double the recipe next time. It was light, fluffy, and it tastes better than something that costs 1.39 at the store. I would definitely recommend it. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Did triple the recipe to use up the tub of cream cheese I had (300 gr.) Added 1 tsp. vanilla extract per receipe. One cake I did in a toaster oven, two in my large convection oven. Strangely enough, the toaster oven came out best in terms of looks. The lower cake in the convection oven got water condensation droplets falling on it, ruining its looks. Both in the large oven didn't brown as nicely and I added 10 min. each in toaster oven to get the golden coloring. They didn't dry out; I suppose due to the water bath. All had wonderful flavor and texture. I think it'll look better if I made two cakes from this triple recipe. I had to stack the slices. See my photos submitted on 3/20/07
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I tried the recipe with fat free cream cheese and skim milk, and it turned out great! I also experimented and poured the mixture into individual mini foil cups , using about a tablespoon of mixture for each cup. I baked them for about 15 minutes at 350 and about 10 minutes at 300. The recipe made about 24 cups, and they turned out great, though you may have to watch the time, since I just guessed on how long it would take. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Tasty, light cheesecake! Wasn't too sweet, but wasn't bland tasting either. It goes great with a little honey and some pecans. Definitely will bake this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I tried this out today, tripled the recipe & it turned out yummy! Dad loved it. Although the egg smell is pretty strong, it's very light and similar to sponge cake. You can taste the cream cheese but it isn't overpowering. Will definitely try this again but maybe will add some flavouring to lessen the egginess of it (citrus? lemon? orange? vanilla? pandan? lemongrass?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
We liked this very much. Not what you think of an American cheesecake - rich creamy lucious. This had a very nice flavor, not too sweet, not too rich and it doesn't hang on the hips and the arteries either. I've already made it again. Will still make a regular cheesecake from time to time but this was a very nice treat for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States