Japanese Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sherry
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
FIRST TRY -- I mistakenly used Neufchatel instead of cream cheese. It turned out quite interesting...very smooth with a consistency denser than pumpkin pie but not really gelatin-like either. Not horrible but obviously not the way it was suppose to turn out. -- SECOND TRY -- I used fat free cream cheese and added 1/2 teaspoon of lemon juice. It turned out alright - a little dense but I did change the recipe. It was somewhat like a sponge cake but not quite as fluffy. -- THIRD TRY -- Third time's a charm! I used fat-free cream cheese along with fat free skim milk. Although it looked dense, it turned out soft. It was flufflier this time probably because I did a better job of combining the ingredients (making sure the yolks and sugar were light and fluffy, etc.). I didn't have parchment paper so I just used PAM and I had no problem with it sticking. With the fat-free ingredients, each serving has barely any fat and less than 100 calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This was my first time baking a cheesecake. I like this recipe because it doesn't use as much cream cheese, which makes this a light cheesecake. I halved the recipe to make a small cheesecake and added a tablespoon of freshly squeezed lemon juice. It turned out wonderfully! Just like the japanese cheesecakes from asian bakeries. Light like a spongecake (as i think it should be), yet still delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I live in Japan and patisseries make a whole amount of ` Japanese cheesecakes ` which I take pale in great comparison to the regular New York style cheesecakes you find at home. Although the Japanese patisseries make a whole bunch of delectable cakes that look amazing, they never seem to make the cheesecakes ` correctly `. Hence, I would have to give this recipe a low rating bc it is more of like a sponge - egg cake, that always sinks. If anyone wants a light dessert, a good custard will do rather than this mushy - spongey type of cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sza Sza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This was delicious. I made it 3 times and it was gone within a few minutes. I am going to double the recipe next time. It was light, fluffy, and it tastes better than something that costs 1.39 at the store. I would definitely recommend it. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Problems falling, just like baking any cheesecake, crack the oven and let it cool down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This was a light spongecake w/out a lot of "cheesyness". We really enjoyed it the day we made it but it dried out overnight in the fridge (even though it was covered) & the leftovers got tossed. I drizzled it w/ caramel sauce & garnished w/ an orchid flower & a sprig of fesh mint. I'll make it again for an asian-themed dessert but next time I will make it in individual ramekins & plan on no leftovers. Thansk for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I tried this out today, tripled the recipe & it turned out yummy! Dad loved it. Although the egg smell is pretty strong, it's very light and similar to sponge cake. You can taste the cream cheese but it isn't overpowering. Will definitely try this again but maybe will add some flavouring to lessen the egginess of it (citrus? lemon? orange? vanilla? pandan? lemongrass?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
The first time I tried this, the cake came out great. Second time, I doubled the sugar and it was even better. However, all attempts thereafter failed miserably. The cake always sank even though I did everything the same. Am I missing something? Reading other member reviews, I see that the recipe yielded different results also. Does anyone know why? Is there a fail-safe version of this recipe? TIA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Did triple the recipe to use up the tub of cream cheese I had (300 gr.) Added 1 tsp. vanilla extract per receipe. One cake I did in a toaster oven, two in my large convection oven. Strangely enough, the toaster oven came out best in terms of looks. The lower cake in the convection oven got water condensation droplets falling on it, ruining its looks. Both in the large oven didn't brown as nicely and I added 10 min. each in toaster oven to get the golden coloring. They didn't dry out; I suppose due to the water bath. All had wonderful flavor and texture. I think it'll look better if I made two cakes from this triple recipe. I had to stack the slices. See my photos submitted on 3/20/07
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
this is more like a sponge cake with cream cheese taste, mine sink, bt they still get eaten, I like the lightness of this recipe and prefer it to heavy cheesecakes (although they don't look pretty)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States