Japanese Broiled Mackerel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
For crispy skin, I pan-fried covered on MED-LO. 3 min each side. Remove fish, cook marinade liquid, pour over fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple City, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
It is good but a little heavier than I prefer. The miso bass recipe from this site has a better lighter flavor so I will go back to that next time I make mackerel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I've been looking for a recipe that was like the saba that I've grown up eating in Hawai'i and this is IT! I followed the recipe exactly and it was so delicious! My 3 year old even ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This was very delicious ans so easy to prepare. I didn't have mirin so I used rice vinegar. Everyone loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I didn't have any mirin but I had the mackerel so I used coconut vinegar instead of the mirin. The taste was wonderful. Thanks so much for the springboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I used this on some King Mackerel from the Gulf of Mexico and grilled it. The end result was awesome. I believe using the sauce as both a marinade and a basting sauce as suggested made the difference between good and great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This was sooo good and easy! I omitted the extra sugar and added a tsp of chinese chili paste as well. Grilled it, basted it and ate it over steamed rice with Japanese broccoli. My husband wanted more, but I ate it all. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tezuka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
excellent! tasted just like the one at the japanese restaurant :) thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
The only thing I did differently is add 1 teaspoon of chili sauce to give it punch. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I was hoping for something more crisp out of the broiler, but alas the fish came out with a soft texture, even with extra cooking time. Salt (a lot) helps, but I'll pass this recipe next time and use the fry-pan instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States