Jap Chae Korean Glass Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Few missing ingredients in this, Beef for example is important, Beaten eggs thats sliced thinly is another missing ingredient. Asparagus is not included in the traditional receipe either. Koreans eat this dish when there is something to celebrate or they are entertaining guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Mmmm... I love the flavor - salty, sweet and pungent. I used Korean sweet potato starch noodles - I don't know that is the same as the recipe. I used a whole onion & I was too lazy to cut match-stick carrots, so I shredded them instead (that might have made them a little wet, but it was still good). I used spinach instead of asparagus & fresh mushrooms instead of dried shiitake. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Forgot to soak the mushrooms so I left them out. Also swapped blanched spinach for the asparagus and tossed in a few leftover sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I thought it was pretty great although it could have used more flavor. i can't blame the recipe since i made some substitutions. i added crumbled tofu and i used oyster mushrooms instead of shiitake. i didn't have asparagus so i omitted that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Kind of strange to have asparagus with japchae, so I replaced it with spinach. This is sort of bland as is, so next time I'll possibly do 1.5x the soy sauce + sugar mixture and double the sesame oil. I also put in a bit of rice vinegar into the sauce mixture, to give it a bit of tang. Be careful not to add too much oil while stir frying (although the noodles stick to the pan easily...) or it'll become a bit too oily. Yummy and much cheaper than buying it at a Korean supermarket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I thought it was good. Milder than I thought it would be, but still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Being Korean, my mom use to make this all the time for us....family and friends. Sometimes she would add beef or chicken...but it's great with or without. I made it the way you have it written, and it came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Made this as a side dish to some broccoli stuffed chicken. Substituted green beans for the asparagus. Did not add the rest of the sesame oil, because the 1 teaspoon seemed to be enough. Also, used the rice cellophane noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This recipe turned out very much like what I eat at the Korean restaurant we frequent. My husband, who is Korean liked it very much as well. I did use spinach instead of asparagus, just my preference. I also added tofu, just because that's how I usually get it at the restaurant. My husband would normally eat this with some beef or pork in it but he liked this and is happy to eat a vegetarian version of it, as I'm vegetarian. I found myself adding extra sesame oil and soy sauce but I may have used more noodles than the recipe really called for. Thanks for the lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
It has all the ingredients for that jap chae flavor. Alter the proportions and vegetables to you liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hiyashi Chuka Noodles

Japanese-inspired chilled noodle and vegetable salad.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States