Jap Chae Korean Glass Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This recipe turned out very much like what I eat at the Korean restaurant we frequent. My husband, who is Korean liked it very much as well. I did use spinach instead of asparagus, just my preference. I also added tofu, just because that's how I usually get it at the restaurant. My husband would normally eat this with some beef or pork in it but he liked this and is happy to eat a vegetarian version of it, as I'm vegetarian. I found myself adding extra sesame oil and soy sauce but I may have used more noodles than the recipe really called for. Thanks for the lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This recipe earns 5 stars for the sauce alone! Tastes just like the noodles I love at every Korean bbq place, you know, the ones that come as one of several small dishes with the meat you order. I make it just as the recipe dictates, and it's perfect. Add whatever veg/ meat you like or have on hand. I don't know how authentically Korean it will be, but it will likely taste amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
It has all the ingredients for that jap chae flavor. Alter the proportions and vegetables to you liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This was yummy! I used baby bok choy instead of asparagus. Didn't have green onion or mushrooms so just left those out. A tasty, filling vegan meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Made this as a side dish to some broccoli stuffed chicken. Substituted green beans for the asparagus. Did not add the rest of the sesame oil, because the 1 teaspoon seemed to be enough. Also, used the rice cellophane noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Kind of strange to have asparagus with japchae, so I replaced it with spinach. This is sort of bland as is, so next time I'll possibly do 1.5x the soy sauce + sugar mixture and double the sesame oil. I also put in a bit of rice vinegar into the sauce mixture, to give it a bit of tang. Be careful not to add too much oil while stir frying (although the noodles stick to the pan easily...) or it'll become a bit too oily. Yummy and much cheaper than buying it at a Korean supermarket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Being Korean, my mom use to make this all the time for us....family and friends. Sometimes she would add beef or chicken...but it's great with or without. I made it the way you have it written, and it came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Mmmm... I love the flavor - salty, sweet and pungent. I used Korean sweet potato starch noodles - I don't know that is the same as the recipe. I used a whole onion & I was too lazy to cut match-stick carrots, so I shredded them instead (that might have made them a little wet, but it was still good). I used spinach instead of asparagus & fresh mushrooms instead of dried shiitake. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Few missing ingredients in this, Beef for example is important, Beaten eggs thats sliced thinly is another missing ingredient. Asparagus is not included in the traditional receipe either. Koreans eat this dish when there is something to celebrate or they are entertaining guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I thought it was good. Milder than I thought it would be, but still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States