Jap Chae Korean Glass Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This recipe earns 5 stars for the sauce alone! Tastes just like the noodles I love at every Korean bbq place, you know, the ones that come as one of several small dishes with the meat you order. I make it just as the recipe dictates, and it's perfect. Add whatever veg/ meat you like or have on hand. I don't know how authentically Korean it will be, but it will likely taste amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
It has all the ingredients for that jap chae flavor. Alter the proportions and vegetables to you liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This was yummy! I used baby bok choy instead of asparagus. Didn't have green onion or mushrooms so just left those out. A tasty, filling vegan meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Made this as a side dish to some broccoli stuffed chicken. Substituted green beans for the asparagus. Did not add the rest of the sesame oil, because the 1 teaspoon seemed to be enough. Also, used the rice cellophane noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Kind of strange to have asparagus with japchae, so I replaced it with spinach. This is sort of bland as is, so next time I'll possibly do 1.5x the soy sauce + sugar mixture and double the sesame oil. I also put in a bit of rice vinegar into the sauce mixture, to give it a bit of tang. Be careful not to add too much oil while stir frying (although the noodles stick to the pan easily...) or it'll become a bit too oily. Yummy and much cheaper than buying it at a Korean supermarket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Being Korean, my mom use to make this all the time for us....family and friends. Sometimes she would add beef or chicken...but it's great with or without. I made it the way you have it written, and it came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Mmmm... I love the flavor - salty, sweet and pungent. I used Korean sweet potato starch noodles - I don't know that is the same as the recipe. I used a whole onion & I was too lazy to cut match-stick carrots, so I shredded them instead (that might have made them a little wet, but it was still good). I used spinach instead of asparagus & fresh mushrooms instead of dried shiitake. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Few missing ingredients in this, Beef for example is important, Beaten eggs thats sliced thinly is another missing ingredient. Asparagus is not included in the traditional receipe either. Koreans eat this dish when there is something to celebrate or they are entertaining guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I thought it was good. Milder than I thought it would be, but still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Forgot to soak the mushrooms so I left them out. Also swapped blanched spinach for the asparagus and tossed in a few leftover sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States