Jansson's Temptation (Janssons Frestelse) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I made It for my family. all of us liked it except for my sister who remove all the anchovies before even trying it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is good. I used 1/2 and 1/2 but I added some butter to make up some of the difference of it and heavy cream. I used some anchovy paste squirted on top of the onions. probably about 1/2 a tube for 1/2 the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coquille, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I've always heard that anchovies lose the fishy taste when cooked in a recipe like this one but there was a slightly fishy taste. I used half and half instead of the heavy cream. It was just ok, probably won't make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wncqueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
You should brown the onions in butter before adding them to the Jansson, this makes the Jansson "richer" in flavour. As a Swedish cook this is the real way to do it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meta4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I Tried this recipe at the Swedish Society Julmiddag (Christmas dinner) and was told it was a holiday MUST on any Swedish Christmas dinner. It was delicious! So I am bringing it when I go to my non-Swedish Canadian family dinner! I hate to think how many calories that whipping cream adds to the menu though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
IKEA sells Swedish anchovies. They're in the refrigerator section of the food market and they come in tins (but need to be kept refrigerated). While these are actually pratt fillets, what is important is the brine they lay in, which is spiced with cloves, ginger and other spices which bring the authentic flavor to this dish. I make Janssons Frestelse throughout the cold season every year, serve it to guests and bring it to potlucks and it is always very popular. Do not fear the anchovies! I always include the brine and usually use two tins. When I make this just for my family I sometimes throw whole tilapia fillets in the bottom of the baking dish and make it more of a balanced meal than a side dish. Lastly, I always use white pepper to season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
The anchovies gave an unwanted fishy taste. I would not include them again. Recipe would be better with just cheese, garlic, salt, and additional cream or half and half. I did like the innovative idea of placing the raw onions on the bottom layer so they cooked fully without needing to be sauteed. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This is crazy good - my boyfriend is Swedish, so it meant a lot to be able to surprise him with as-good-a-version as his family recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I, too, was happily surprised at what an effect the anchovies had--AND without being detected by my anchovy-hating other half! I made one change to keep from going to the store--I substituted a tube of anchovy paste for the anchovies. I think the quantity of the tube may have been a bit small in comparison the "fourteen" anchovies called for, so I either won't do that again, or I will use TWO tubes. In spite of my faux pas, I am still SO impressed by this dish, and will make it again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Tasty enough, as scalloped potatoes go. My potluck diners were surprised to learn about the anchovies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States