Jan's Pretzel Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This a fantastic recipe and a definite keeper. I do not have a bread machine so kneading was the only change I made. I am not a very experienced baker, but found this recipe easy to follow and still produced great results despite my shortcomings as a baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Oh my goodness! I will be playing with variations of this bread for weeks! There was a little hole-in-the-wall near our house that made Philly Cheesesteak Pretzel Pockets that were to die for. They went under and we wanted to see if we could make our own. We used this dough, but instead of strips around hot dogs we made 6x5 rectangles with a dollop of Philly Cheesesteak filling, folded them over and crimped. With the leftover dough I made a couple of hot dogs. Followed the rest of the recipe with the baking soda bath and rock salt. It was absolutely glorious! My bread machine has never produced such a lovely ball of dough, it's gotta be the beer! Today I'm running the dough recipe through a full bake cycle in the breadmaker to see what it will do. We're guessing the boiling kills the yeast to prevent further rising, so this might blow the top off the breadmaker. I just LOVE experimenting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daxrunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pinehurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carolyn
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I made the pretzel dough just as the recipe stated. I sprayed my granite island with Crisco Spray. I rolled the dough out and used a pizza cutter to cut dough into 1/3" strips and tightly wrapped those around cocktail weenies / lil' smokies. I followed everything else and they were a HUGE hit for a Super Bowl party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
The taste is AWESOME. Huge hit with everyone. However, whatever you do, DO NOT USE PARCHMENT PAPER. I made this very serious mistake and it completely ruined them. I had to take a knife and cut the bottoms off of every single last one. Next time, I will be greasing the pan (heavily). Also, I know oven times vary, but once you get past the 10 minute mark, watch carefully...they start to burn quick. Great recipe though, I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Fun, delicious and kids loved it. We had a lot of dough left over and made pretzels with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was a simple recipe even without a bread maker. I added cooked bacon and onions to the bread mix and made a beer cheese dip to go along. I decided to use brats instead of dogs. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Thanks Jan for such a great easy recipe. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I made two kinds for my daughters birthday party and they were a huge hit! Now I make them once a month and keep them in my freezer. Can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
4 stars only because it was difficult. It truly is one of the best tasting Pretzel dog recipes, however, very labor intensive and the boiling was difficult, the dog would slide out or the pretzel would unwrap. I did use the left over dough, as it made a lot for a family of 4, I made regular pretzels, poured the boiling water in a glass pie dish and dropped the pretzels into that, much easier that fishing for them in my large pot. May try again, but will dip them in the pie dish not the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graphxlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This is a fantastic and easy recipe. I started out using the dough to wrap hot dogs, but the recipe has now turned into my "go to" for all homemade pretzels and pretzel buns. Perfect texture for sliders, brats and all burgers. If you will not be eating everything fresh, omit the salt on top of the pretzels ~ the salt "melts" with storage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenAndPatti

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States