Jan's Pretzel Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
UPDATE*** As the submitter of this recipe I would suggest to those of you worried about over browning bottoms, to use two cookie sheets together to bake on. My baking sheets are a heavy gauge metal and I also use a silpat on top of that so mine bake up just right. However, if you have a thin sheet, doubling up will help insulate the bottom and prevent over browning issues.*** These are easy and fun. My kid love 'em! We have made different kinds.... Turkey, beef, sausage, cheese....kids like the cheese dogs best! These never last long so I make a double batch and individually freeze the second batch for a special lunch treat! When I freeze for lunches I leave the salt off as it causes the bread to "sweat" while defrosting. The dough is also wonderful for regular pretzel or bite size pretzels. I highly recommend the recipe "Clone of a Pretzel Dip" from this site to accompany the pretzel bites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I used water instead of beer, but these still turned out great. I made it by hand, proofing the yeast first, mixing the remaining, and then letting it rise for about 1 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
AMAZING! These are ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! I was surprised at just how easy they were to make and fun too. I made half the recipe because there was only two of us. It was perfect for one package of hot dogs. The grandkids are going to love them. Thank you WFDM for sharing your AMAZING recipe and a special thank you for recommending my dip! UPDATE - Today I made the pretzel dogs with cheese. I used American cheese which I sliced with a pizza wheel, making it thinner than the dough strips. I pressed the cheese into the dough strips a little then wrapped the dogs. It was necessary to seal the edges between the strips so they would hold up in the water. This all worked well; but, when I baked them, the cheese oozed out the ends. I posted a photo to show the oozing cheese. They tasted great but my conclusion is they really don't need the cheese. I made these to freeze because I found that they freeze so well. I put them in the microwave frozen and heat at half power. They taste as good as fresh baked! Try these, you don't know what you're missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Perfect, just perfect! My daughter helped me make these and we had so much fun! With the exception of using my KA mixer to knead the dough (no bread machine) and then letting it rise for an hour, I followed the directions exactly. The pretzel dogs came out perfectly and were so good! We had a selection of mustards for dipping, but they are really good on their own, thanks WFDM?! Addendum...tonight we had some of these that I had frozen. I wrapped one loosely in a paper towel and microwaved at 70% power for a minute. They came out very fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Photo by lisajarrett09
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Every once in awhile I make something that is so delicious that I can't believe that it is the work of my own hands. These delicious dogs are the perfect example of this! Mmm. Mmm. Mmm. I do not own a bread machine so I did knead it by hand for about 10 minutes and then let the dough rise for just over an hour. Perfection! I used a pack of 7 hot dogs and made pretzels out of the rest of the dough. I can't wait to make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajarrett09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
AWESOME!!!!! These were almost too simple to make. I halved the recipe for 1 package of hot dogs, and actually made my dough the night before and refrigerated it. A couple of hours before I was ready to make them, I pulled out the dough to allow it to get to room temp...PERFECT! I used a pizza cutter to cut the strips of dough and that worked out great. I served them with assorted mustards. My family LOVED these, and that makes this a definate do-over recipe. Thanks, WFDM, for a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Wow my Hubby and his kids LOVED these! And so did I of course :p I DID NOT have a bread machine but I DO have a heavy duty mixer. I did the first 3 steps as directed except I had all the ingredients together in the bowl with the paddle attachment of my mixer until well incorporated. I replaced the paddle with the dough hook and set it on medium low speed for about 6 minutes to knead the dough. After that I covered the dough with plastic wrap and let it sit at room temp for about 1 hour and 15 minutes, until it doubled in size. I did everything else as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlinlilkittie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Made these for a 4th of July get together with friends. When I was asked to bring hot dogs, they left it up to me as to what to bring, thinking I was going to stay traditional.....hee hee....These were a huge hit, even from the "non hot dog" eaters. I made 20 out of this recipe and still had extra dough. Didn't bring any home and for the first time, I do believe that the hamburgers took a back seat. Thanks so much WFDM for such a great recipe. I'm making more to stock the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Very good. I wrapped organic hotdogs & also made bite-sized ones, some with sausage slices & some with jalapeno slices. (Next time I'll try wrapping the jal. ones so that water can't make them mushy; also will try finely chopping them to add to dough as jalapeno tasted great with the pretzel dough.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Let me just add my 5 stars to this great recipe. I've read and heard about it on the Buzz for a long time and today was the day! I cut the recipe in half and used 8 Angus Beef Hotdogs. I'd never made pretzels before and these were fantastic. The beer and butter flavor comes through in the dough and the kosher salt on top is the bomb. We dipped them in simple yellow mustard. My so picky husband even commented (which he hardly EVER does) that these were really good. My jaw dropped, so I want to Thank you Jan for the great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States