Jan's Pretzel Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Heather C
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Yum yum! These couldn't have been easier to make. I halved the recipe and ended up with enough dough for 8 hot dogs. The taste is amazing. The pretzel dough on it's own is so good. Thanks for submitting this recipe What's for dinner, mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Photo by metread
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I made this recipe for the first time back before it was published, and my family loved it. I used both hot dogs and smoked sausage links, and both were great. They freeze well, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
AWESOME!!!!! These were almost too simple to make. I halved the recipe for 1 package of hot dogs, and actually made my dough the night before and refrigerated it. A couple of hours before I was ready to make them, I pulled out the dough to allow it to get to room temp...PERFECT! I used a pizza cutter to cut the strips of dough and that worked out great. I served them with assorted mustards. My family LOVED these, and that makes this a definate do-over recipe. Thanks, WFDM, for a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I actually made these in March 2011, but when the recipe was published, the reviews vanished. This is a copy/paste of my review. - Awesome Recipe!! We throughly enjoyed these for dinner with a bowl of green pea soup ~ Thank you What's For Dinner Mom!!! I had a very "Fun" experience making these (see my Profile/Cooking Tragedies for a laugh at my expense). I got these all ready, boiled, egg wash and salted and baked 1/2 the batch right away and put the other 1/2 in the fridge until closer to dinner (about 1.5 hours) there was no difference in the end result ~ perfection! Will definately make these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Photo by tanya
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011 Loved them! I made 1/2 with regular hot dogs and 1/2 with hot links for my Husband. I still can't believe how easy they were. I had been wanting to try these forever but was slightly scared of making them.Wish I hadn't waited so long! Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
AMAZING! These are ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! I was surprised at just how easy they were to make and fun too. I made half the recipe because there was only two of us. It was perfect for one package of hot dogs. The grandkids are going to love them. Thank you WFDM for sharing your AMAZING recipe and a special thank you for recommending my dip! UPDATE - Today I made the pretzel dogs with cheese. I used American cheese which I sliced with a pizza wheel, making it thinner than the dough strips. I pressed the cheese into the dough strips a little then wrapped the dogs. It was necessary to seal the edges between the strips so they would hold up in the water. This all worked well; but, when I baked them, the cheese oozed out the ends. I posted a photo to show the oozing cheese. They tasted great but my conclusion is they really don't need the cheese. I made these to freeze because I found that they freeze so well. I put them in the microwave frozen and heat at half power. They taste as good as fresh baked! Try these, you don't know what you're missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Perfect, just perfect! My daughter helped me make these and we had so much fun! With the exception of using my KA mixer to knead the dough (no bread machine) and then letting it rise for an hour, I followed the directions exactly. The pretzel dogs came out perfectly and were so good! We had a selection of mustards for dipping, but they are really good on their own, thanks WFDM?! Addendum...tonight we had some of these that I had frozen. I wrapped one loosely in a paper towel and microwaved at 70% power for a minute. They came out very fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
UPDATE*** As the submitter of this recipe I would suggest to those of you worried about over browning bottoms, to use two cookie sheets together to bake on. My baking sheets are a heavy gauge metal and I also use a silpat on top of that so mine bake up just right. However, if you have a thin sheet, doubling up will help insulate the bottom and prevent over browning issues. Parchment paper will keep dough from sticking but I do suggest a good spray with PAM prior to use.*** These are easy and fun. My kid love 'em! We have made different kinds.... Turkey, beef, sausage, cheese....kids like the cheese dogs best! These never last long so I make a double batch and individually freeze the second batch for a special lunch treat! When I freeze for lunches I leave the salt off as it causes the bread to "sweat" while defrosting. The dough is also wonderful for regular pretzel or bite size pretzels. I highly recommend the recipe "Clone of a Pretzel Dip" from this site to accompany the pretzel bites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
These are great! I halved the recipe since it's just the two of us, but now I wish I'd made a full recipe. The recipe was very easy to follow. Thanks for sharing. This will be a repeat for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I saw this recipe on a blog and thought it looked so good I just had to try them but I figured mine wouldn't turn out as great. I was wrong they turned out perfectly and were really easy to make. Everyone liked them so well I made them for my son's graduation party and they were the first to go. The recipe was requested and shared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States